We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at this over priced, dirty hotel with unpleasant employee's.”
Review of Hometown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hometown Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel in March and was disturbed by the dirty rest rooms in the lobby. After seeing our room this made the restrooms look clean. The room had dirt around the edge, garbage under the bed, shower curtain had mold on it, drip stains down the sink. Went to complain to front desk that also looked unprofessional, shirts hanging out, no name tag, tattoos and very rude. Ask to speak to a manager and she talked to me like it was a privilege to stay there. Never seen such a lack of care in a place that is supposed to be in the business of hospitality. Also I don't know where the last two comments came from on here but they sound like the manager wrote them.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize for the rare and unusual experience you had at our property. We value each guest, the cleanliness of the hotel and the welcoming staff we employ. Please, give us the opportunity to provide the customer service and accommodations that our guests recognize while staying at the Hometown Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Staff was outgoing, friendly, courteous and helpful. Knowledgeable abou thing to do in the area. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Great variety for a free breakfast. Room very clean and good sized. Linens clean and fresh. Had lovely pool and hottub. Just what we needed after driving all day. Price was comparable to other hotels in the area but only place we found with a pool. Was good to be close to everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are happy to hear your stay with us was so pleasant. We welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

What an amazing little gem in northern Michigan. Great location right off I-75. Stayed here with my family and had a wonderful time. Room was clean and cozy, even had free cable and wi-fi. And heated pool and hottub were a great bonus. Staff was friendly and helpful. And the free breakfast. WOW! what a deal, juice, milk, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, and even biscuits and gravy. Something for everyone. Awesome value and not way verpriced like some hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelS386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you thought our breakfast had something for everyone during your recent stay with us. Since you found us at such a great value we hope to welcome you back when you're in Indian River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

When coming in to Indian River we hit major snow squalls, when we called the hotel to explain our hazardous situation, the front desk explained they planned on charging our credit card wether we were there or not....upon finally arriving we found our room dirty and the jacuzzi tub was broken. Breakfast was nasty

Room Tip: Rooms are very noisy on second floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We do have a 24 hour cancelation policy at our hotel and we notify all guests making a reservation of it. We have housekeeping clean our rooms daily. We do not rent out dirty rooms. We have no broken Jacuzzi tubs here at our hotel; the directions on how to use them are next to the on switch. I am sorry that our complimentary breakfast was not satisfactory to you. We hope that if in the area again you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here and experienced an unclean room, dirty pool and hot tub as well as an unstaisfactory breakfast(far from "deluxe"). The manager was very receptive the following morning and offered a free stay on our next trip. When I recently attempted to use the free night coupon, the new managment refused to honor the card stating it had "expired". Based on other reviews, I would NOT recommend this property. There are several other good options in Indian River!! Guest beware!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irHometownInn, Manager at Hometown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We always appreciate our guest’s input regarding their stay. We apologize that we were unable to accept a certificate that expired over (2 years ago) during an ownership change. We hope that when you return to the area you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We booked a 2 queen room on expedia for $80 for 12/19 - 12/30/12. The rooms were very clean and the service was great. Great place to stay when you are snowboarding/skiing at boyne mountain, only about 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: 220 was my room and it was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Better watch your reciept because they charge you for smoking when you don't even smoke charged me an extra 200.00 bucks when i think the maid forgot to vacuum ,the hot tub had a black ring around it the free breakfast was NASTY the management was rude so if you are ever in Indian River i would recommend staying at the COACH HOUSE MOTEL WEAR THEY WILL TREAT YOU LIKE FAMILY OUR STAY WAS ON OCT 6TH 2012

Room Tip: Coach House Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian River
15.0 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
17.1 mi away
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
Fleetwood Inn and Suites
#2 of 5 in Cheboygan
134 reviews
18.0 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
449 reviews
14.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
19.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn

Address: 4375 Brudy Rd, Indian River, MI 49749-5170
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Indian River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Price Range: £57 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Beautiful Indian River, close to the trails, rivers and lakes. Easy access off I-75, or M-68. Golf, kayaking and biking packages available. Free continental breakfast, indoor, heated pool and hot-tub. Jacuzzi rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hometown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing