We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable and a very nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coach House Motel

Coach House Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coach House Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable and a very nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

On our cross country road trip we stopped in Gaylord, MI and there were no rooms available due to a baseball tournament so we drove another 40 miles north and stopped in Indian River. The first motel we saw was the Coach House and hoping against hope that there was a room available. They had just received a phone call cancelling the one room they had. I knew then that this was a good sign. The room was neat and clean and the people managing the property could not have been nice. When I asked for a good locally owned restaurant they directed us to Wilson's River Edge Restaurant where we not only ate supper but went back the next morning for breakfast.
I would recommend the Coach House to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

All the other good comments are true but additionally we had a gas fireplace in our room. It was July and we were motorcycles and being from Florida to us the weather was COLD. The fireplace a a nice and expected benefit to take the chill off. Also the room had numerous electrical outlets. In this day of travel with digital camera, phones, tables and laptops it seems a lot of hotels have only one outlet which makes charging 3 devices difficult.

Room Tip: Ask about a fireplace is it is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddykilowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love little, mom and pop (and 5 dogs) run motels and this was one. The owners were very nice and helpful. The room was clean, not fancy, but had a TV and Wi-Fi and was HUGE. Its right off the highway, so not scenic in anyway, but near so much scenery that its not an issue. You just need a place to sleep when there is so much to do "Up North". The only "concern" I had and it was just a concern, not a problem, was that there was no dead bolt lock on the door. I sort of felt a bit exposed, being on the ground floor, but decided that this was "Up North" after all and I was pretty confident that there was nothing to worry about. Dead bolts would be simple enough to install however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohawk, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's a "mom and pop" run motel who keep the place clean and comfortable. Not modern but it has wifi. We'll stay again when be pass below the Big Mac. Restaurants were close by the motel, and the owners gave us good recommendations for dinner and breakfast., Gene and Pegg Johnson

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenson, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

January 2014 My husband and I have stayed here several times within the last 6 months. My folks stayed here, too. We were VERY pleased. Clean and cozy rooms. The owners are very friendly. It's just a few minutes off I-75, 30 minutes south of the Mackinac Bridge. Prices were very reasonable. There's a McDonalds across the street. A gas station/convenient store within walking distance. Just a few minutes walk is a Family Dollar store. We all agreed this was a safe, comfortable place to stay. HAPPYhappyHAPPY!

Room Tip: We were happy with each room we had. So were our folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HAPPYhappyHAPPY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice mom & pop up north place. Outdated decor but very clean and spacious. free in-room wifi. Comfy bed but pillows were lumpy. Shower didn't drain well (room 10) and the head was only at about 5ft. It was fine for me but way short for my husband. Nice, friendly owners. Convenient location. Had fireplace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Needed "last minute" accommodations. Based on the good review found here we wanted to try this motel. The sign said "No Vacancy" but they did have a room. Price was decent, room was outdated but very spacious and clean...and included a gas fireplace (bonus points if traveling during the winter months). Note for the ladies: blow dryer is not provided. Very close to North Central State (rail) Trail. Would consider staying again when in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian River
8.9 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Gate Motel
Star Gate Motel
#1 of 6 in Indian River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hometown Inn
Hometown Inn
#4 of 6 in Indian River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Motel

Property: Coach House Motel
Address: 6100 M 68 Hwy, Indian River, MI 49749-9366
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Indian River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Indian River
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a typical mom and pop motel. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms. All double rooms have a gas fireplace, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot and coffee. In addition, we have free wi-fi and direct dial phones in each room. As of August 1st, 2016 we are no longer pet friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing