We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we expected and would recommend to others looking for the same”
Review of Ellis Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ellis Lake Resort
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Ellis Lake Resort was a rustic stay and that was exactly what we expected. It was close to Traverse City but out of the city, and that gave us a balance in pace to our days. The room was very clean, and comfortable but simple and affordable. That is what we were looking for. The owner was very friendly and very helpful! We had a nice time. The weather was too hot to use the hot tub but it looked nice and if it had been cooler we would have tried it out. The lake was quite peaceful. Our room was by the road and we did hear road noise but as we had the fan running the entire time, it covered the noise quite well. The room remained cool and comfortable due to being in the shade and the the two fans in the room. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The mini fridge and the coffee maker were useful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikkiSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was a nice resort. Wish there would have been more of an area to fish or enjoy the water. Not quite what we expected as far as the waterfront. The staff is very nice and the property is nice. It could have used a minor revamp (swingset was not very sturdy, more grassy areas by cabins, updated dock, etc.) but overall it meet our needs perfectly. Great Location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ellis Lake Resort! This is only our second full summer here and have improved a lot of things, although not all are visiable to our guests. Our waterfront is one of our next areas for imporvements including the dock. It is currently in its natural state as it has been for the last 10+ years. Our old swingset was moved and replaced with the larger play structure. The old swingset had seen better days. Thank you for your suggestions and as your return on future visits, you will hopefully see other changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Location was perfect for visiting our granddaughter at the Interlochen Arts Camp and great fun for the grandchildren since we had the lake all to ourselves and the use of the paddle boat and canoes. Also convenient for cookouts right outside our cabins. We had two right next door to each other which made it nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annec38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Noise curfew is not enforced thus we had a noisy first night. The lake is small but private with boats provided. Mattress is very soft in the Doghouse. Shower is built way above ground level and the first wet step getting out can be slippery and very dangerous. Location can be very noisy with highway noise as well as a bit challenging to get out of the complex due to traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you, Ioneal, for your review. We are not pleased if the noise did not quiet down after we made late evening rounds. We do apologize for that. The new shower is the same location as the old shower was. Our cabins are 72 years old and did not originally have bathrooms. These were added later and plumbing put in the best it could for a slab foundation and log structure. We do provide shower mats for the floor like other motel/hotels do for more secure footing. We trust you found the majority of your stay restful and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Becky and Steve are the hosts of this magnificent place, and they couldnt of been more helpful. This was my second year in row up here and it was just as great. The patio by the lake is peaceful and a great place to watch the sunset while drinking a cold one. The cabins provide a secluded feel in the woods. With the hot tub in the middle of the woods and within walking distance, its unique setting left us in awe. I would AND DO recommend this gorgeous place to anyone looking to get away from the daily grind of this thing we call life... and just kick back and relax.

Derek&Brittaney.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsinka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Ellis Lake. My husband and I stayed there back in 1997 when we first got married. Went back this time with our ten-year-old son. We canoed a lot, enjoyed campfires and enjoyed the wood stove in the cabin. We will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Quiet and private yet near outstanding cultural, sightseeing an outdoor opportunities. Congenial and accommodating hosts. Only resort on the lake.

Room Tip: Go to the website for information about each cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz3463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
10.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
10.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
6.5 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
199 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Lake Resort

Address: 8440 Us 31 S, Interlochen, MI 49643
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Interlochen
Price Range: £47 - £1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute, cozy, romantic log cabin lodging. Small resort surrounded by forest on almost 900 feet of frontage on secluded Ellis Lake. Private outdoor hot tub. rowboats, canoes, snowshoes, volleyball and horseshoes are available. Chairs, grill, tables and a nice floating raft at the lake. Our Logrooms (motel rooms) have a small refrigerator and coffee maker. All other units have kitchenettes or full kitchens, some will also have a microwave. WIFI on property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing