We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Anniversary Trip”
Review of Ellis Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ellis Lake Resort
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
“Annual Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Every year we visit Ellis Lake Resort for our anniversary. We love the outdoors, grilling, and the bonfire pit. The cabins are very cozzy and warm. We wouldn't go anywhere else:) On the other hand, there is a ton of traffic when staying in any of the three cabins by the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Best vacation we've ever been on! Our cabin was really nice and well stocked. We had a wonderful outdoor space that was just for us with our own fire pit, picnic table, grill and lots of room for the kids to run. We also loved that there was a game room. The kids were very attached to the Lincoln Logs in particular. The kids were also very excited about the paddleboat and rowboats, and the adults loved the hot tub! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chalet. It's perfect. From your yard area you don't see any other cabins. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Look over the map for this property. There are 3 cabins in the front-Pine, Cedar and Maple. They are about 75 feet from a major highway. We heard traffic all day and night including semis and even a few emergency vehicles. We expressed this concern when we left and were told they try to inform everyone staying in these cabins about the highway. We were not informed. There are better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderer589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
It sure would be nice to go back 73 years when US 31 was just a two lane dirt road and set all the cabins back on the property another 100 feet or so. But unfortunately, we can't. We do have traffice that goes to work in Traverse City daily, and it does quiet down some during the day until they all head home again late afternoon. It is usually much quieter here by 8 pm and yes, all types of vehicles do travel our road. So, we have what we have! We do let our guests know when they are booking a reservation which cabins sit closer to the road and which sit back farther. We also have a map on our website that shows the location of the cabins. We do apologize to you if this was not indicated to you when you made your reservation. Another factor that often happens when making a reservation is that the back cabins are already rented and the only ones available are our front cabins so yes, we do have better options for cabins if you book early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

What a great place! My boys had so much fun riding their bikes, fishing, and just being boys without television and video games. The cabins are rustic and are exactly what the website shows. I don't like to rough it in a tent, but can't justify staying in a hotel when my husband and boys want to be outdoorsmen-this was our happy medium!! We cooked outside, had campfires, and then you could go inside and be clean! The cabin we stayed in was clean and nice and cool. Becky was a great host and super nice. When we had to leave early because of work, she called us to make sure everything was fine. Of course it was~we were just sad that we had to leave early. I highly recommend this place if you want to half-heartedly rough it, but don't want to hassle with a tent, camper, or using a public shower and bathroom (ew!)....we will be back!

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins in the back so you don't hear the traffic. 31 is a very busy road, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We've been staying at this resort on and off since 1995 for 2 night getaways. If you are on the look out for a "little house on the prairie" type experience to step back in time without the inconveniences and high setup investment (especially time) that camping in the woods requires, I highly recommend this place. It's all about expectations and Ellis Lake owners are very honest about that. This is a no frills place. We took out 6 year old daughter for the first time and she loved it. They have row boats and kayaks at no charge on a small and serene lake. You get your fire pit and your grill along with 2 chairs and a picnic table. Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes national park and it's beautiful lakes including the North Bar. The new owners are very friendly with a can-do attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IremK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We staying in what looked like a shed. No amenities at all, except one bar of soap. No shampoo, coffee, hair dryer. Decoration is terrible and furniture was beat up. REALLY disappointing considering the price we paid. Would not go back. Would rather venture in to Traverse City and stay at a motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hello Claire 1,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your accommodations. The unit you are referring to is the Willow. It is not a shed, it is actually the whole right half of our pole barn on the quietest part of our property. Originally you had reservations for two of our logrooms but because of change of dates our Willow was the only unit available to accommodate your family. We have many guests who enjoy this unit as it is a large, private (set back from the rest of the resort), and quiet room. Ellis Lake Resort is a 73 year old well preserved rustic resort. We do not claim to be anything than what we are. We do not supply shampoo/conditioner, hair dryers, or coffee as our guests always bring their own. We are more of a "camping" experience with outdoor firepits for campfires with a lake with boats for fishing, not a large five star hotel. We have lots of pictures on our website and facebook showing exactly what we are and what you will find in all of our cabins. Many like who we are, but we are not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were warned in the reviews that this location was "rustic". It certainly was that and more! The Pine cabin's floors were heaved so badly you needed to be careful when you walked across the floor. The shower was extremely small and a little "scary". There was no bathroom sink, so the kitchen sink was also a bathroom sink. The owners were super friendly and gave us great recommendations for dinner. The place was also super clean. The real draw back was the highway noise. The cabin we were in sat just off of the highway. My recommendation is to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spicy-octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjohnsondragonfly, Owner at Ellis Lake Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hello spicy-octoput from McGregor, MN
Thank you for your review. We have high expectations for our cleaning staff who do a super job. We are pleased you enjoyed our recommendation to try Spaghetti Jim's in Traverse City. Super owners and super food. Our Pine log cabin is not for everyone as it is the first cabin you see when you drive in off the road. It sits in the front of the resort for all to see. We do have guests who come here and request this cabin just for this very reason because they enjoy the activity. I'm sure the original owners who built the resort 73 years ago had no idea that the two lane dirt road would be what it is today! We do have many other cabins that sit back farther on our property that are not visible from the road and quieter. Originally there were no bathrooms in any of the log cabins. There were outhouses on the property. Bathrooms were added as well as showers prior to our ownership 3 years ago. Small spaces mean smaller areas for showers. We are looking into updating this particular space though. Again, with the age of our cabins, 73 years includes settling of the floors as well as tree roots. The pine floor is not completly flat like you say, but there is not much to do about it at this time. Some look at it as historic charm. We did enjoy having you as our guests on your bike trip around the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
6.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
193 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
10.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
9.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Lake Resort

Property: Ellis Lake Resort
Address: 8440 Us 31 S, Interlochen, MI 49643
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Interlochen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute, cozy, romantic log cabin lodging. Small resort surrounded by forest on almost 900 feet of frontage on secluded Ellis Lake. Private outdoor hot tub. rowboats, canoes, snowshoes, volleyball and horseshoes are available. Chairs, grill, tables and a nice floating raft at the lake. Our Logrooms (motel rooms) have a small refrigerator and coffee maker. All other units have kitchenettes or full kitchens, some will also have a microwave. WIFI on property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing