We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor motel”
Review of Interlochen Motel

Interlochen Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Interlochen Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interlochen
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor motel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This motel is old, dirty carpets, dirty bedspreads and what ever they use to clean smelled so strong it was toxic......I will never stay here again. Thankfully it was only one night. The strong odour made it difficult to breath, really effected my asthma. Do not stay here!!!!! Not even if you're desperate!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
branson west, mo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This motel is pretty old, but they've updated some of the rooms and it was decent/clean. I would recommend it if you are in a pinch. We were visiting family during Cherry Fest and it was the only thing we could find that was reasonably priced within driving distance to Traverse City.

Room Tip: Decent/Clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chooter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

we were very disappointed in the motel. We ended up leaving early. After a long day spent in Traverse City, we arrived back at out hotel to find we still had wet towels and our bed was still unmade. When we complained to the manager to let him know we were unhappy nothing was done to correct the situation. I contacted the owner after arriving home, and asked for a refund on the second night that we left, she also told me "sorry about your bad luck". We would never recommend this hotel and we will never return. The place was very small, furniture old and worn and the price was high for the accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

It's a motel. But given that's it's a motel, the bed isn't terrible, it's clean, the TV is watchable (it was better than the one in the fancy hotel from our last top), in our room the Wifi worked great (it's apparently spotty in other rooms), the A/C was strong with a real thermostat, and the tiny cement shower had plenty of hot water and a handheld shower head so you could actually get clean.

So for a motel, it's very good. It doesn't overpromise, and it does overdeliver, at least a bit. We called same day on a holiday (and school move-in) weekend, and the price was better than anywhere else in the area by a wide margin. Staff was nice.

Negatives: bathroom door didn't close, and I was up a lot my second night because I could hear someone snoring from another room. It wasn't loud; I'm just a sensitive sleeper. Still, I could hear it.

It's incredibly convenient to Interlochen. If you go, eat at Bud's.

We generally stay at a nicer place closer to the airport, but I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the office if you want working Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkaEsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My family stayed two nights in a single (queen bed) room. The motel staff were very friendly on the phone and in person. The single room was very small with only a walk in shower. The bedroom was very clean, but I noticed some mold growing inside the shower. The bathroom door didn't quite shut completely...it was very old and may have been the original bathroom door. Doors that shut are important to us because we have a 14 month old who wants to explore everything...we had to block the entrance to the bathroom with a pack-n-play. The pack-n-play was offered to us free of charge by the motel. It was clean, but seemed to have been stored for a while....there were several silk balls (assuming from moths) inside the pack-n-play bag. The first night, we may have been the only guests and our water smelled slightly like sulfur. The second night, the motel was full and we had issues with the hot water turning cold and hot again. The bed was a basic spring matress and box springs...if your sleeping partner weighs more than you, gravity pulls you toward them all night long. The Wi-fi worked well.

I don't think we'll be back to this hotel. I do recommend it as a cheaper option than staying in Traverse City and the drive into TC was only 15 minutes. It was also half the cost of a TC hotel. The convenient location is a plus as it was close to Sleeping Bear Dunes, Cherry Bowl Drive In Theater and other family friendly attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PureMichiganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Room was small but comfortable and clean. We came to Interlochen for a concert and stayed two days. We brought our mountain bikes and explored the area. Loved it. This motel also rents bikes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our room was clean but very small. Bathroom is also very small. Spouse called the room "quaint." It is the closest lodging to Interlochen Arts Academy other than the Stone Lodge on campus, so in that respect, it's ideal. Price fits with other hotels in the area, but still, it's a pretty unremarkable motel.

Room Tip: Clean, small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
12.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
7.5 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlochen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlochen Motel

Property: Interlochen Motel
Address: 2275 M 137, Interlochen, MI 49643-9133
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interlochen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located less than one mile from the World famous Interlochen Arts Academy, minutes from Traverse City, and 20 minutes to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Great fishing at Green, Duck, and Long Lakes. Snowmobile from your door two blocks to a main trail that leads you to anywhere you would want to ride, with a gas station just one block to the north. Our rates are the lowest around with cleanliness and service top rate. Come give us a try. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Interlochen Hotel Interlochen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing