We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Way To End a Busy Day”
Review of Interlochen Motel

Interlochen Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Interlochen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Interlochen Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interlochen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way To End a Busy Day”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at Interlochen Motel for five nights. It was wonderful. The room was clean and made up daily. My test for a clean room is to walk around in white socks. It passed the test. It is clean and quaint and quiet. It harkens back to simpler days. We've stayed in five star hotels all over the US and while Interlocutor doesn't have all the fancy amenities what it does have is charm and quiet. There are no drunken revelers, screaming kids or blaring TV's from the next room. It is away from the hustle and bustle and after a long day of sight-seeing it is so nice to come home to a peaceful night's rest. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while in the Traverse City area. We booked a single room. The room was basic-queen size bed, fridge & microwave. Our room was very clean. While they did provide soap, there was no shampoo-so bring your own. The only issue we had was the shower. Difficult to regulate the water temp and the water just kind of dribbled out-not a good shower. The Wi-Fi worked great. If you are looking for a full amenity place to stay-this is not it. While they did provide coffee in the mornings, we were usually on the go before it was available so we opted to go down the road to Buds for breakfast. While it was a nice place, will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We rented the two bedroom suite for an evening while in the Traverse City area. Upon entering the suite we were blown away by how clean this place looked and smelled - I'm talking absolutely immaculate. The suite included a full size fridge and microwave as well as kitchen sink and cabinets fully stocked with plates, glasses and utensils. We could have easily spent a week here and felt very comfortable the entire time. The wifi worked great and cable was basic but met our needs. The suite offered central a/c which worked perfect and a very large bathroom. The decor was very cute and fitting for a Northern Michigan mom & pop. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. They offered delicious homemade muffins in the office in the morning. Great value for being a 10 minute drive from Traverse City. Would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently returned from our 6th or 7th stay at the Interlochen Motel. We visit Traverse City for the film festival every summer, and have also stayed in the off season, just because we enjoy this area so much. If you're looking for a chain hotel with all the amenities, this isn't it. If you like old-fashioned charm, a quiet setting amongst the trees, and local color, you'll probably enjoy this motel.

In all of our stays here, we've never had any of the bad experiences that others have written about - we've always been treated well, found the owners to be friendly and very helpful, and had a clean room. We appreciate the complimentary coffee and muffins each morning, as well as the convenience of an in-room microwave and mini-fridge. We also like the fact that they are environmentally friendly and part of a "Being Green" energy-saving, solar, and recycling program.

We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This motel is old, dirty carpets, dirty bedspreads and what ever they use to clean smelled so strong it was toxic......I will never stay here again. Thankfully it was only one night. The strong odour made it difficult to breath, really effected my asthma. Do not stay here!!!!! Not even if you're desperate!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlochen hotels

branson west, mo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This motel is pretty old, but they've updated some of the rooms and it was decent/clean. I would recommend it if you are in a pinch. We were visiting family during Cherry Fest and it was the only thing we could find that was reasonably priced within driving distance to Traverse City.

Room Tip: Decent/Clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chooter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

we were very disappointed in the motel. We ended up leaving early. After a long day spent in Traverse City, we arrived back at out hotel to find we still had wet towels and our bed was still unmade. When we complained to the manager to let him know we were unhappy nothing was done to correct the situation. I contacted the owner after arriving home, and asked for a refund on the second night that we left, she also told me "sorry about your bad luck". We would never recommend this hotel and we will never return. The place was very small, furniture old and worn and the price was high for the accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlochen
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
11.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
12.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
7.5 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlochen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlochen Motel

Property: Interlochen Motel
Address: 2275 M 137, Interlochen, MI 49643-9133
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Interlochen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interlochen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located less than one mile from the World famous Interlochen Arts Academy, minutes from Traverse City, and 20 minutes to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Great fishing at Green, Duck, and Long Lakes. Snowmobile from your door two blocks to a main trail that leads you to anywhere you would want to ride, with a gas station just one block to the north. Our rates are the lowest around with cleanliness and service top rate. Come give us a try. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Interlochen Hotel Interlochen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing