We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iron Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have not been to Iron Mountain in Ten Years. Main Lodge has redone all rooms since being here last time. Stayed in Condos which are located at bottom of ski hills next to the lodge. Condos are nice , but a little overpriced at about $260 a night. Granted it sleeps up to 7 people. The bar and restaurant inside lodge has excellent food. Drinks were a little overpriced , but all in all would highly recommend this hotel. They also have timberstone golf course which is a professional style course very beautiful scenery and challenging course. Great place for family reunions.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor away from bar area are a lot quieter if you quietness. Really not a bad spot i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed one night as part of a business trip to Iron Mountain. This is clearly designed almost exclusively to be a ski chalet, and is quite dated. For example, the room keys are actual keys and the bathroom was very small, and only contained a modular shower. My room overlooked the roof of the restaurant, so the view wasn't much, but it is in a nice spot, so my guess is that there are better rooms in the place. But given that the lodge was all but empty, wonder why I didn't get one of the nicer rooms? The staff was very friendly and helpful, both on check-in and check-out. But the carpets are furnishings are very well worn and the whole facility could use a facelift. Restaurant is interesting, in particular if you are a sports fan at all. Where else can you see a photo of Tom Izzo and Steve Mariucci as the 1972 co-captians of the Iron Mountain HS basketball team? The golf course is worth playing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathGuy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Pine Mountain with our children for just one night on New Year's Eve. We chose it because we were told it was a great value. The only room available when we called was a pricier room, so our expectations were raised. We were disappointed by the condition of the room, as well as the amenities included. The bathroom was quite dated and we also a problem regulating the water temperature, as I read in an earlier review by someone else. We expected a microwave and mini fridge, but the room included neither. We kept some food in a cooler, but never found an ice machine. After my husband expressed his disappointed, the staff was quite apologetic and discounted the price of skiing and rental for us. We liked how compact the resort is. The pool, restaurant and ski hill are all very close together. The staff, both in the hotel and at the ski hill, was quite friendly and treated our children very well. The restaurant on site, Famers, had a nice view of the ski hill and had good food, but the service was very slow. It was quite busy due to the holiday, but they seemed to be understaffed. We enjoyed the pool, but, as others stated, it could have been a few degrees warmer. I'm sure we will visit again some day to ski, but most likely consider other options for lodging.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anicole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have rented a cabin right under the ski hill and it was just great! Fully equipped apartmanent with 2 separate bedrooms with own bathrooms, kitchen and living room with fireplace and TV. Very popular for hunters and very comfortable for long business stay. Other time we had apartments closer to the parking lot, it was not so great, but also good. You can walk to a ski jump and even climb on it, but its very scary if You dont like heights. Just couple of minutes from local airport and town centre. The area is flooded with white tale deers, so You can technically hunt them right from the balcony just using a spear :-)

Room Tip: Take a cabin right under the ski slope. Haven't been in the hotel rooms, but I know there is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The rooms are super clean and spacious most with great views. It's off the beaten path a little bit but there is plenty to do nearby and great food at the restaurant which also serves as the Hall of Fame for UP athletes! Busy most weekend nights starting early on Fri with outdoor seating available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogsInTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This Hotel is average at best; the elevator is small and appears dated, the hallway has wood trim that looks as if they bought it and cut and put it on the wall. The staff is very nice but the rooms are very dated in appearance and amenities. The TV looks like it's 10 years old and the bathroom door won't open all the way because it hits the toilet. However..... if your a golfer the average hotel rooms are worth having a chance to play a beautiful and challenging golf course. The rates for a stay and play are around $80 and worth every penny. If your a business traveler and want to golf they are less expensive the the Holiday inn. The bar and restaurant have a UP sports hall of fame theme and serve food good enough to not have to leave.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay if I wasn't golfing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J304C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

So we missed r flight to park city & instead of scraping the weekend we decided to drive up to iron mountain MI. My husband is from CO so he typically steers away from Midwest skiing. We weren't in the best mood to begin with and to be honest this resort isn't the newest or shiniest but wow what an incredible staff. We will go back here. The hotel is older but it is clean! I'm a clean freak. It's clean just older. Myself and the boys used ski instructors they were Excellent! Food excellent!manager excellent they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome! I've stayed at some of the best hotels from CA to NY, and I will tell u this hotel though not the newest(u need to know that so your not disappointed) has a staff second to none. A+++ for the kind staff who took a disaster weekend and through their kindness made it special.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
317 reviews
2 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Mountain Resort

Address: N3332 Pine Mountain Rd, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-9403
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range: £41 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Pine Mountain Hotel Iron Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing