We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good for the Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Good for the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

In actuality, anywhere else, this is just your ordinary hotel. But, in remote Iron Mountain, I think it is worth the 4 star rating.

The Hotel seems relatively new. The room I was in (King) was very roomy. Nice King bed, decent workspace, couch and table, and ample room in the bathroom. Not a huge fan of closets that are basically just holes in the wall without doors, but oh well. Not much else to speak of in the room...little convenience refrigerator and good selection of TV channels on the TV.

The common areas are pretty blah...typical of a HIE. The fitness room is small but adequate...the machines worked and are pretty basic. The breakfast area is nothing to write home about.

One thing I thought was weird...I asked the front desk for a bottle of water and it was like he had to sneak it to me because it was against IHG policy.

Really the only choice near there, every other property looked pretty bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    41
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
23
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

New clean Holiday Inn Express in Iron Mountain Michigan. Very clean, nice furnishings, quiet, no hassle. Fairly close to downtown Iron Mountain, right on U S 2. A few miles from Famers, at the Pine Mountain Resort. It about 100 miles from Marquette, Michigan. 50 miles from Escanaba. It is one of three Holiday Inns in the Upper Peninsula. Again new and clean is its best suit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel, is close to downtown Iron Mountain and close to Ford Airport. But not too close that you would not be able to enjoy the quiet of the area. You can still get plugged into the internet. Plus it gets really quiet after 5 pm in the hotel. You won't notice that there are other guests until you walk down the hall or go to the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: If you don't like to hear cars going by, request and odd number room (ie 217, 117, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtbmi2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The young man that checked us in acted very stressed and wouldn't look us in the eye. He talked to us quietly as we checked in. Lobby nice, parking fine and free. Room nice size, comfortable, quiet, we stayed at the end of the hall. Comfortable bedding and towels. Internet difficult to get consistently.
Breakfast was average with yogurt, coffee, muffins, sweet rolls, eggs, links, waffles, syrup, white bread, bagels and juice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Room was very clean and in a quiet area as requested. Hotel is your usual Holiday Inn Express and what you would expect - polite staff, reasonable breakfast. Check-in and check out was efficient. One complaint - the spotty internet service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

One night stay. Arrived early and my room was ready due to a large cleaning staff. I counted four people, one for each floor and one working on the stairs. The place was spotless and comfortable. The check-in was fast and helpful. The room large and clean with a great comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and serviced with a very friendly server. The location was within two miles of the VA hospital and this would be a good place to stay if visiting family there. The location is just outside the downtown area and next door to a bowling alley if you enjoy bowling. There are several restaurants in the area and I found a real gem called, Spiro's that no one told me about. I found it by chance and enjoyed a very nice meal with the outside seating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall, a nice hotel. Staff was friendly, & helpful. Breakfast was "OK", but had to wait for awhile
due to a BUS LOAD full of guest that had to eat also. Will check with staff prior to booking. Too many people made it difficult. Rooms were very nice & comfortable. Pool was clean, but no "hot tub". Would do it again the next time in Iron Mountain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Iron Mountain
Super 8 Iron Mountain
#6 of 11 in Iron Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
Address: 1535 North Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, Iron Mountain is a beautiful and historic town located within minutes of the Wisconsin border. Travelers to the Iron Mountain area will find restful, 100% non smoking accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites which is located near the best of Iron Mountain's attractions. You will find getting to our Iron Mountain hotel is easy as we are conveniently located on US2/ 141/ M95. Many of Iron Mountain's largest businesses are located within a few minutes of our hotel. M.J. Electric, BOSS Products, Systems Control and Oldenburg Group Incorporated are just a short drive from our hotel in Iron Mountain. For special events or meetings, the Antoine Room has everything you need to host a successful event. Conveniently located adjacent to the hotel, the Antoine Room can host up to 300 attendees. For the leisure traveler, our Iron Mountain hotel offers convenient access to many outdoor attractions. In the winter months, Pine Mountain Ski Hill and Norway Mountain Ski Hill are both prime locations to ski. Pine Mountain is also home to one of the world's largest man-made ski jumps. In summer months, blaze a trail at Piers Gorge Whitewater Rafting & Hiking Trails or enjoy a round of golf at nearby Oak Crest Golf Course or TimberStone Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Iron Mountain
Iron Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing