We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm”

Olde Suffolk Ale House
Ranked #18 of 28 Restaurants in Ironwood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ate dinner at this restarant based off fellow tripadvisor recommendations. We were impressed with the outcome. My husband ordered the prime rib which our waitress indicated they are "know for." I ordered the lobster filled ravioli with chicken. Both selections were terrific, but I would absolutely say the prime rib was the BEST! Our four children selected the made to order personal pizza from the kids menu. They were large portions and in fact, they could have been split. Dessert was a caramel cashew cake shared as a family. Wow, did that disappear quickly! Highly recommend this place for smaller groups or anyone looking for a sit down dinner. Beer selection includes a great variety of local microbrews too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
392 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Food and the Atmosphere was Supurb”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family gathers now and then for a very nice meal when everyone has the chance to come to Ironwood. We all got together on a Saturday and visited the Olde Suffolk Street Ale House. The wait staff was curtious and outstanding. The food was out of this world and the price was extremely affordable. My brothers and sisters have been raving about it ever since. I have reviewed many eateries and I would put this one up against any one of them. I would certainly dine here again!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonandLisaFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Cozy Pub with exceptional food!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A must try is the slow cooked "Prime Rib", that's fork tender an infused with subtle flavors. If, however, your in a mood for just a quick bite, order the "Shaved Prime Rib Sandwich" so you can experience the essence of that great cut of meat. It's a great place to eat, drink and relax in a touch of the 1800's atmosphere. A definite stop if you'll be in the Ironwood area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise !”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was up for the Sisu Ski fest. I expected the basic small town Sysco food service inspired Applebee's faire. And when I am proved wrong - I am thrilled !

The Olde Suffolk Ale House is not what I expected in Ironwood. Guinness on Tap, great atmosphere (unfortunately I was up with a ski buddy instead of my family). I had the Friday Tilapia special, it was wonderfully prepared in a blacked / fried manner. Neither baked (boring) nor breaded or battered and fried - somewhere in-between breaded and blackened. Great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Friendly Service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Loved this little restaurant, great atmosphere and deco. Staff was very friendly and the food was very good. A bit pricey but good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dterzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Suffolk Ale House also viewed

Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Olde Suffolk Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing