We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still needs work”

Maplewood Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Still needs work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We really want to like this place - it has a nice looking bar and a cozy area around it to eat. However, the food and service can be very spotty. In previous visits, the service has been very slow and appetizers often show up with the entree. This last time, service was much improved, but the food wasn't up to standards. We ordered Buffalo Wings and found that the thicker ones were a tad undercooked. All 4 of ordered hamburgers and all 4 were overdone. However, the home fries were underdone on the inside. No mustard was on the table and by the time we saw our server to ask, we were all 1/2 done.

Since we live in the area, we'll certainly give them another try - we really want to see them get better!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayernTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    37
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Kids night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good food, good kids menu. Manager allowed us to order a kids portion of a regular item menu for picky kid, very helpful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We enjoyed our meal at the Maplewood Steakhouse. They had a nice variety of delicious beers on tap and the food was hot, delicious and filling. Good service by our server as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillInEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Ask for a table not a booth!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We felt optimistic about this dinner choice, but were let down. Like the previous reviewer, we were unfortunately crammed into a VERY tight booth near the bar. The air-conditioning worked in the front of the restaurant, but not in the back, and by the time our meal was over, it was like a sauna sitting in the way too tight booth.

Food is OK, but not great. Steak special...the bourbon sauce was good, but the steak was very thin and not medium rare as requested. Mixed vegetables were inedible. Broasted chicken was good. Was disappointed that the whitefish was frozen, so I didn't order it. Server was nice.

Recommend you be a bit picky about where you sit. And suggest to the restaurant that they figure out how to make their guests a bit more comfortable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Looks Great on the Outside but inside is different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

My family went for to the Maplewood for a nice dinner during the Thanksgiving weekend. The main dining room was closed so they sat us in the bar area. We had four in our party plus a toddler. We were seated in a booth near the exit from the kitchen. This would have been fine if the business was packed but there were many other tables open including a larger one. Two drunk couples from the bar ended up sitting at the larger table. Being so close to the bar also allowed us to hear the vulgar language that several of the patrons were using. The food was very good which is why I will say the overall experience was average. This is a great place if you are looking to hang out at a bar and have a great meal. I would think twice if you are going with a family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tprat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maplewood Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Maplewood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing