We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great pasty and that's all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Pasty Shop

Joe's Pasty Shop
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Joe's Pasty Shop was recommended to us by a local, and indeed had by far the best pasties I've eaten in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. I can submit a photo of the front of the shop.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A great pasty and that's all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stopped by Joe's for a to-go pasty and had a chuckle--the place is quite simple. You can get a traditional pasty--the only one hot and ready for take-out, or three other varieties for take 'n bake. Other than that the menu offers only a grilled cheese. For eat-in, there's a counter or a few tables. But our pasty was definitely worth the stop: huge, piping hot, great crust, and filled with nice moist meat and potatoes. No surprise why people stop here. It was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joe's Pastys are legendary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have heard a lot of good things about Joes and they were all true. A very simple, affordable, and delicious meal--the Pasty. We always get several Pastys to take home to cook and they are unbeatable. If you are looking for a Pasty, go to Joe's !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eat like the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were told by several people that we HAD to try a Pasty while staying in the UP. We did and we are glad we did. They were good, filling, and I'm sure we'll have them again if ever in the UP.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The Pasty that made Pasty's famous" - You bet that's right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stop here at least once a year if not more often when I get Up North. Joe's Pasty's are always good wether you stop in or get them frozen and bake them in your oven! I have been having Pasties from Joe's since I was a young boy coming Up North with my parents. I like the the traditional and the breakfast Pasty's. They are always great.
Joe's has been in town since nearly for ever. When my mom was growing up in Montreal, WI, her Mom (my Grandma) would get Pasty's from Joe's and Grandma is 93!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrath0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Pasty Shop also viewed

Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Joe's Pasty Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing