We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder people like these.”
Review of Joe's Pasty Shop

Joe's Pasty Shop
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
Description: Joe's Pasty Shop was recommended to us by a local, and indeed had by far the best pasties I've eaten in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. I can submit a photo of the front of the shop.
Restaurant details
Description: Joe's Pasty Shop was recommended to us by a local, and indeed had by far the best pasties I've eaten in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. I can submit a photo of the front of the shop.
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No wonder people like these.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Tasty and filling old time treat .No fancy names, no fancy titles just good ol' great food. I had never people talk about eating pastys before and taking some home with them, but I didn't know why. Now I do nothing was left over. Yum!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Joe's are the best and have been forever”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you like the real thing and you have not had had Joe's hot and ready to eat you are missing out. They could put garbage in the middle and it it would taste good in the crust they can deliver. No other Pasty can compare and I have had all of them including what used to be the Royal Bakery in Ironwood too. No comparison. I live 300 miles away now and only get to have them a few times a year but there is no comparison. My family was originally from Hurley so we know what we are talking about..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jay762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very tasty traditional pasty”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Whenever we are in the area we stop in at Joes Pasty Shop. No frills but great tasting pasties! Today we picked up 3 traditional pasties hot and took them to a local park to eat. We also took 4 frozen Finnish to go for a meal later in the week. The grandkids love these and always need to go there when we are visiting the Ironwood area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Pasty!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We are traveling in the UP and couldn't wait to get a Pasty!! We were not disappointed. They were great. We stopped by early Saturday afternoon and ordered a couple of Traditional pastys. Superb!! It is a no frills place and a friendly waitress!! We will go back if we are in the area. Hope the others we have on the UP measure up!! While we were there several people who were passing thru stopped by to buy frozen ones to take home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Guess we're not pasty fans”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I'm sure this place deserves the good reviews if you're a local or into pasties. We wanted to try them. They're good but if you're expecting something as moist and flavorful as a potpie, you'll be disappointed. We went at lunchtime and the harried waitress declared that they were out of almost everything. The people just kept coming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank minnesotajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Pasty Shop also viewed

Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 
Ironwood, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Joe's Pasty Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing