We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ironwood
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I read the other reviews before booking, and was happy to see they were accurate.

Our room was on the second floor. The access to the send floor is a little funky, through an attached enclosed outside stairwell, but it works. The exterior and interior accessway were both clean.

We ended up with a double queen room. The beds were quite firm and we appreciated that. The room was quiet. Everything appeared clean. The bathroom was fairly modern.

The motel is the older drive up style, but the owners have taken car of it and invested in it to keep it in good shape. It may not feature the most current TV sets, and the furniture might look old school, but it all works and is not tacky.

The motel was difficult to get to because Hwy 2 was under construction. Therefore, their occupancy was a little low, and it was obvious our room hadn't been used for a while. We let it air out for a few minutes and it was fine.
I'd recommend it to friends, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The AC works very well. First floor might be easier to get in and out of for elderly patrons. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    94
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
70
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading other reviews we were delighted that they were accurate and this is a great place to stay. We ended up in a suite since we had not made reservations and arrived late and found the room was much more then we expected for the price. A definite find and will be on the stop back list when we make the trip across the U.P. again. A clean and welcoming place to stop. Yes, there is construction but the owners do give a map to help which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a suite and still very reasonably priced. It's in a quiet corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are large and clean. The beds were comfortable. The owners were great about helping us find our way around with the construction on the road out front. We had a good night's sleep & had coupons for breakfast the next day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A small complex but the large comfortable rooms have recently been upgraded. It was very quiet & the office staff was great. The owners are readily accessible & they go beyond the call of duty to make your stay comfortable. Note: road construction on the main road through town continues through Nov., 2014 so access to the motel seemed difficult, especially at night. There is a small driveway access through the construction zone, but you have to look for it. There is no breakfast provided but the office has discounts for local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I really don't expect much in a hotel/motel when we travel to the Northwoods. I just want a clean place to stay and found just that it the Budget Host. Like the other reviewers have said, the room is huge, furnishings are very dated and the price about $30 cheaper than the other choices.

Random things:
-The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
- The shower curtain was very thin kept sticking to me in the shower.
- I didn't care for all the religious reminders of God in the room and on the signs. I don't think it belongs in a public place where you are paying to stay.
- I went in the little house to return the key at the end of our stay. It was dark and as I tossed the key on the desk, I realized someone was sitting in the dark looking at a computer screen. Really scared me. Please put a light on!

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utellme716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and the proprietors were extremely helpful with my husband who is handicapped. Went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to accommodate my husbands disability. Made sure sidewalks were not slippery and helped to make sure that we could get to our room without any problems. (lots of snow and ice the weekend we were up there). Room was clean, spacious and more than we expected. Proprietor checked with us to make sure we did not need any other assistance during our weekend. Would not think of staying anywhere else when in the area after the excellent treatment we received.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grassymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was relieved to find a place for the weekend during ski season, at a very reasonable price. I did not expect such a fine facility! Although it's been around awhile, it is in excellent condition. My room was very large, larger than many suite hotels. The sink area (outside the bathroom, which I prefer) had a very long counter, nice for laying out toiletries, clothing, etc. The bathroom fixtures were original (what was that tan/pinkish color called, Peachblow?) but in almost perfect condition, no cracks, I could hardly find a ding in the finish. I had seen some reports of old beds and spreads; must have been replaced as mine were excellent. Extremely clean! Owner and helpers (probably family) were very friendly. Owners live on the property. No breakfast, but that's OK.

Room Tip: Second story requires use of staircase, which is enclosed and in fine condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemlockHill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironwood
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Ironwood
0.3 mi away
Royal Motel
Royal Motel
#1 of 1 in Ironwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Cloverland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Cloverland Motel

Property: Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Address: 447 W Cloverland Dr, US 2 West, Ironwood, MI 49938-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ironwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ironwood
#3 Family Hotel in Ironwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Cloverland Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Host Inn is centrally located on US Hwy 2 West in Ironwood. Nestled among towering red pines. A short driving distance to major ski hills, Lake Superior, and breathtaking waterfalls!All of our rooms are large, spacious, and contain at least 2 queen sized beds. Microwaves, in-room coffee, cable-TV, small refrigerators, a tub with a shower, hair dryers, and a large vanity area are all “standard equipment” in every room! Choose from convenient main floor rooms, second floor rooms with a front balcony, or quiet corner rooms. All rooms are decorated to resemble more of bedroom than a motel room!W have accommodations for groups. Our largest Suite has 4 Queen beds in 2 adjoining rooms! This Suite sleeps up to 8 people! 2 additional Suites have 2 queen beds PLUS a queen sized hide-a-bed, sleeping up to 6 people! Free Wireless Internet access in all rooms.Ask to stay in one of our decorated theme rooms! For you "fishermen", we offer our "fishing room" so you'll feel especially at home! For newlyweds, sweethearts, or anniversaries, you can extend the romance by staying in our "hearts" room! Our extra-large upstairs Suite is tastefully decorated with a “Cherub” theme. Pictures and statues of Cherubs adorn this spacious room!We have a Large parking lot for snowmobile trailers, etc., Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations for all! All major credit cards accepted.We'll treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Host Cloverland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Cloverland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing