We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic place, clean and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice basic place, clean and quiet.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I've stayed here several times and it has been a pretty consistently good experience. They have four rooms that allow dogs, and they want to be told at the time of the reservation that you will have a dog with you. The room this latest trip was clean and close to the stairs. Security here is pretty good - you have to card in at any time unless you use the lobby. No fridge in the room but there is a microwave by the ice machine.

Complimentary breakfast is next door at the Country Grille so you can either take the complimentary choice or knock $3 off your bill from the regular menu - much preferable to the norm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you agin very soon! RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    41
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
22
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel was very clean. The pool was great. Breakfast was great too. We just wish the pool would have stayed open to kids for a bit longer. We had a lovely time on the Pictured Rocks cruise, but my kids were disappointed that when we returned to the hotel the pool was closing in 5mins. The pool also didn't open until 10am so they couldn't swim the next morning. This made the overall value of the hotel less attractive because I was willing to pay extra for the pool/slide and we really never got to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks, we hope to see you again soon! RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I always stay at the Best Western here in Ishpeming. The folks are friendly & the rooms are very nice. I have stayed here several times during the snowmobile season & warmer weather. Very quiet & restful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from vacation in the U.P. The price was very cheap, so we had pretty low expectations. We were actually pleasently suprised. The room was pretty spacious, and the shower had many different spray settings. The room did not have a refridgerator or microwave. The pool was smaller, but warm. My daughter and I went down to the pool twice, once in the morning and once at night. We had the pool to ourselves both times. The hot tub was also small, but was very hot and had many jets. There is coffee available all day long. The hotel is very close to a family restaurant (Country Grill), a McDonald's, a grocery store, and a gas station. Along with your room, you get a breakfast deal at Country Grill. For the price, the hotel was impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon! RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good hotel with lots of services nearby (restaurant, microbrewery, grocery store, hardware store, RV park). Cliffs Shaft mine museum close by as well. Italian fest was at Al Quall Park about a mile away. Bands, Italian food, souvenirs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank samfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate the kind words. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Well I'm not strong this was a bad hotel just doesn't deserve the Best Western name. I stay in a lot of hotels across this country and I can tell you I have stayed in Super 8's that are just as nice for a much better price! I have stayed a American Inn's that have a better breakfast then what this hotel offers to you. Now the rooms do have nice beds and updated tv's, but the hotel it self is out dated the air conditioners in the rooms are old and not all of then blow out cold air. I had other people in my group that's how I can speak about the a/c. The bath rooms are small and extremely cramped. Come see for yourself. It's no surprise in the photos they posted about the hotel there showing off the sites of the city! This hotel is way over priced when it doesn't compare to other Best Westerns! Stay where you have to, but I do not recommend this hotel at the price. Drop the price on the room and not a bad hotel. Look at the out side and it will explain what you get on the inside. Not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whattodonoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I apologize that we did not meet your lodging expectations. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking to improve our facilities. Thanks for the review. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My sister and I took my mom here to stay for Mother's Day and to enjoy the craft show! It was a great stay! We got a deal online, and had no problem checking in or with the deal! Clean room and pool area! I was very pleased to see a lift in the pool for people who had disabilities or had difficulty getting in the pool. Don't know if it was for 1 particular person or for everyone, but never the less, a great thing to see!!! Pool was open early, which is a plus for me!! It was a little chilly, but it probably is great in hot weather!! Staff was very friendly! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplelover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, Owner at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for the review and for staying with us. We are glad you liked the accommodations and had a good time/stay. We look forward to seeing you agin soon! RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#3 of 3 in Ishpeming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
13.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Property: Magnuson Country Inn
Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing