We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnuson Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Jasper Ridge Inn(Ishpeming)
US$107
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Motor Inn(Marquette)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Marquette(Marquette)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Marquette(Marquette)(Great Value!)
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI(Marquette)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Host Motor Inn(Marquette)(Great Value!)
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
29
44
35
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
44
35
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorfree breakfastplace to stayhot tubcold cerealsmall townmini fridgebit datedcoffee makerfirst floorclean roomsjasper ridgebrewerytrailerdeskchannelsmotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel was decent but the water closet (bath/toilet room) was very, very small. The nearly $100 rate was a bit high I felt. The ice machine was broke but they had buckets of ice on the floor around the machine. Not the best solution imho. Other than that it was ok, comfy bed, clean room, nice TV, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for the review, we take our customer feedback seriously and are always looking to improve.

Just wanted to note that we now have a new Ice Machine on site and its working great. :-)

Sincerely,

RyanL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose the Best Western in Ishpeming, MI because we had our dog with us. The hotel is pet-friendly and close to where we needed to be. The rooms were spacious and fairly clean, although our carpet had numerous stains. (Maybe that's what a "pet-friendly" room is?) The beds were extremely firm, but comfortable enough. The biggest problem for us is that the free high speed internet did not work AT ALL anywhere we went in the hotel. It was also promised at the restaurant, but didn't work there either. The "free continental breakfast" consists of a coupon that can be redeemed at the restaurant next door for a few small breakfast choices. We chose to use the coupons as $3 off full menu items instead, which was not a bad deal, but a truly FREE, full-sized breakfast would've been more in line with the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kc0llette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you and we hope tosee you again real soon!

Sincerely,
Ryan L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Little things that I have come to expect from staying at Hampton Inns and Holiday Inn Express (120+ nights/year) were missing. There was no on-site breakfast; they give you a voucher for the cafe next door but the "free" offering is VERY limited. The website says complimentary breakfast but it doesn't say you have to go next door. There is no on-site exercise room. My room, while very dated, was clean. The Internet service was okay. I was trying to save my company a little money because the hotels are over-priced in this market. In the future, I'll pay the few extra dollars and stay in Marquette at on of the chains I am more accustomed to.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhkfwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for your input and sorry your stay did not match the expectations you had from staying with other chains. We are constantly evolving and looking for new ways to match our competition's offerings. We will keep your feedback in mind.

Sincerely,
RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is not for family with kids at all. There is no fridge, no micro wave and to eat breakfast you have to go outside in other building. Not only that there was only one microwave in the hotel which was out of order for the most time and they will not fix a $ 50 microwave. Most disgusting thing was there were fleece in the bed room and my kids got bitten all over including me and my wife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gazanfer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I apologize that you had an unpleasant stay with us. We value feedback from our guests and use it to improve our facilities.

Just a couple of clarifications based on your comments:

1) We feel we are a great hotel for children and families. Many thousands of happy families have stayed with us and return regularly when visiting the area.

2) The microwave you mentioned was replaced with a new one 2 days after it stopped working.

3) We are in the process of adding fridges and microwaves to our rooms.

Thanks again for your input.

Ryan L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I've stayed here several times and it has been a pretty consistently good experience. They have four rooms that allow dogs, and they want to be told at the time of the reservation that you will have a dog with you. The room this latest trip was clean and close to the stairs. Security here is pretty good - you have to card in at any time unless you use the lobby. No fridge in the room but there is a microwave by the ice machine.

Complimentary breakfast is next door at the Country Grille so you can either take the complimentary choice or knock $3 off your bill from the regular menu - much preferable to the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you agin very soon! RL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews