We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snowmobile trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Watertown, United States
1 review
“Snowmobile trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Rates were reasonable, just wish the rooms had a fridge in it. Sofa sleeper definitely needed to be upgraded! (we switched rooms) Staff was very accommodating in all requests. Going next door to the Country Grill for breakfast was not a problem. Food was amazing! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words. You will be glad to hear that we plan on adding micro-fridges in the near future to all of our rooms. Hope to see you again this winter. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    41
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
22
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, MI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel has gone down from the last time I stayed here. The entire hotel is dated and could use a facelift. The wifi is non-existent. Using my 3G is faster, sadly... It isn't there fault no 4g, but without it, wifi is for sure expected. I can't hold a connection to their signal at all! The hair dryer is old and blows lukewarm air. The exhaust fan is noisy in bathroom. Just everything about it feels old... Too bad. This used to be our favorite place to stay years ago.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cossondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review and I apologize your stay was disappointing. You will be glad to know we have recently upgraded our WIFI equipment and now have strong signals throughout the whole property. We also are planning a property renovation in the near future which will give us a nice facelift as well. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ishpeming hotels

Carol Stream
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was a clean, quiet and safe place to stay. However, the website is misleading. It lists complementary breakfast as one of its amenities. At check-in, you are given vouchers for the restaurant next door. When you go there for breakfast, you are given the choice of complementary breakfast of dry cereal and fruit/ toast and fruit or you can take $3 off any menu item. Either way, you would be leaving a tip for the waitress so it's not really complementary, is it? Only other issues we had were poor internet service and inconsistent water temp in the shower. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and I apologize your stay was not quite up to par. We are currently looking at adding an on site continental breakfast in the near future which should address some of your concerns. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel looks good on the outside, but is in poor repair. Windows leak, no sound insulation very loud. reserved a king bed and received 2 doubles on check in and no other rooms available. wanted to charge me for the room if i went to another hotel unless they could resell it even though it was there mistake on not reserving the right room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review and I apologize for the room mix up. I have spoken to my staff and instructed them on how to better handle a situation such as this if it ever were to happen again in the future.

In regards to the hotel we are in the planning stages of a major upgrade which should give our property a nice facelift.

Ryan LaMere
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Ignace, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pool was clean but no towels either day. Floors are noisy so we worried our kids might bother others. Still room was big. Showerhead was nice. Easy in and out. Wifi available. Pricing was ok. They give breakfast discount coupons for the restaurant next door which we did not try. Cell service did not work inside rooms. Liked the view of the woods outside the window. Felt more private. Maid service was friendly and respectful.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFumixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Rl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A wide spot in the highway, wished I could be more positive but the property is a place for a traveller's night. Nothing outstanding in either case, good or bad. As always Best Western beds are hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and I apologize that our accommodations were not quite up to par for you. We do our best to provide quality accommodations and friendly service at a reasonable price. We do hope you will give us another try next time you are visiting the area. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thought the breakfast arrangement was disappointing. No in-house breakfast offered. We were given coupons for our choice of three minimal selections at the restaurant next door. Appeared to be under common management with the hotel... come-on to order off the menu at full price with a small discount. Traffic noise from the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for the review and I apologize that you did not like the complimentary offerings we have at the property. We are in the process of improving our selections and they should be ready to implement soon.

Sincerely,

RyanL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Property: Magnuson Country Inn
Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing