We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Reunion in Ishpeming MI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Ishpeming, United States
1 review
“Family Reunion in Ishpeming MI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a family reunion in Ishpeming. We were late at check in and the staff was so helpful and polite. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and the waiter was entertaining and very attentive. Hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. We felt at home and enjoy our stay. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review and the kind words. We appreciate you choosing our property and look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting the beautiful Ishpeming area.

Ryan L.
G.M.

P.S. I let your server at the restaurant know you enjoyed his service. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    41
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
22
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand rapids, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Were travelling home from a vacation and usually stay in BestWesterns. Made a reservation about 2 1/2 hours out. Room was ready when we arrived, friendly staff but a little pricey...of course it was peak travel season. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and the kind words. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will do so again next time you are in the area.

Ryan L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean efficient hotel with a nice little pool and hot tub. Short on welcoming us, but we'll get over that. Hotel is next to the highway so opt for a room away from the highway if noise bothers you. Room was OK, but bathroom was quite small. The Jasper Ridge Brewery and Restaurant is in walking distance that offers some good chow and micro brews. A bit on the pricy side, but good. Hotel breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Djgrayrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Ryan L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time during our three day stay. I found everyone very helpful and friendly and the Complementary Breakfast was excellent. I will return next year and looking forward to it. People make a big difference and I was well treated by the hotel staff and the restraunt. Ate dinner there also recomend the fish and chicken dinners so count me as a happy customer over all....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ryan L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

There was a bad storm where we were camping so we picked up tent and started heading to our next destination and got tired so we stopped here to see if there were any vacancies. There were and so we got a room for the 4 of us. Was a bit overpriced. So we checked in around 10:30 pm and the front desk was not friendly whatsoever! Didn't greet us, give directions to anything in the hotel, didn't tell us check out time, didn't even give us a receipt. They ended up some time during the night shoving it under our door. The a/c unit in the room didn't work very well but was well enough to get by on. The beds were comfortable though and they gave you plenty of pillows which was great. In the morning we headed over to the restaurant that's located next door that they give you a deal on (and you have to get there by a certain time to take advantage of this). When we arrived there and they found out we were from the hotel they treated us like a nuisance. The food was great but the service sucked. When we went back to the hotel we took the kids swimming and they had a great time. The pool area looked pretty nice. When I went to the room to start packing things up the housekeeping was working on some of the rooms that people had checked out of. I got rude looks from the staff and felt like I shouldn't be there when there was still over an hour before we had to check out. When we checked out none of the staff was polite. Overall HORRIBLE customer service. I won't stay here again. It should be a welcoming experience and definitely was not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfryover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and I apologize that you did not feel welcomed at our property. I have discussed your concerns with my staff as well as with the restaurant staff next door. We will continue to work towards improving and hopefully you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Ryan L
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ishpeming hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The floor is a little weird/loud and our room sink faucet needs to be adjusted, but room was clean and beds comfy. Breakfast is at the restaurant next door and includes a couple different free options to choose from or you can get $3 off one of their regular meals. I thought the breakfast options were good and we all left more than satisfied!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank proudteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words. I will let the restaurant staff know you enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Ryan L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Dog friendly, and you can smell it the moment you walk in the door.
Rooms smelled and carpets were gross. Pool area dirty and old with no room to sit for your family poolside, very small.
No continental breakfast in the hotel.
Once at the hotel you pretty much have to stay in your room.
There is no area to sit or hang out.
If it wasn't the only major hotel in this city, they would never be booked.
I would not suggest this hotel for large families or sport teams at all.

Room Tip: I really wouldn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the review. I apologize your stay didn't meet your expectations. We will work towards doing better in the future. RL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.2 mi away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
11.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
15.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Property: Magnuson Country Inn
Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ishpeming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing