We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best night i had in Nova Scotia”
Review of Big Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Lake Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best night i had in Nova Scotia”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I just got back from a small trip arround Nova Scotia, and i have to say that this place was one of my favourite places. At first i wanted to sleep in a hotel near the sea but after seeing this place i just didn't need to look anymore. The view could not be decribed in words, we came on a perfect sunny day and had our dinner on the beautiful deck of the restaurant that was facing the lake, while watching the crazy sunset. The rooms were super clean, the breakfast was very good and most important- there was free internet (for me it was very important, as i had to finish things for work). I really recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upstate SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night and the owner was very obviously not ready for guests yet. We arrived around 3:00 to check in and found a note on the door saying that someone would be there in a half-hour. Because it was raining and we had been driving since early that morning, we opted to wait in the car. Almost an hour later the owner drove up with apologies, saying that he had to go get supplies for the motel. Because of the weather, we had planned to eat dinner in the advertised motel restaurant but it was not open for the season (nor was the bar). The owner had no suggestions for a good place to eat locally, telling us that the food at the local restaurants was only "passable". His only suggestion: a restaurant in Mahone Bay, about an hour and twenty minutes away. My husband was looking forward to a quiet evening watching TV, until he discovered there were only three channels and the reception was quite poor. I will say, though, that the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
We had planned for an early start the next day, but the office didn't open until after 8:00. We didn't have time to eat the advertised breakfast so I can't say what it consisted of. Being early risers, we could have used a cup of coffee while we were waiting for the office to open but there was no coffee maker in the room. All in all, it was a disappointing last night's lodging for us in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateSCRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raanana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My wife and me picked the place by a chance. We were passing by and were attracted by the outstanding landscape view and the unique location of this motel. We have booked ourselves for one night but stayed more than a week. Everything was excellent - primarily the hospitality by the owner and his lovely dauther. Breakfasts were great and were served in the lake overlooking homey dinning room or veranda. Rooms were perfectly clean and equipped with all necessities. Walks around were relaxing and peaceful. Peggy's Cove was easily reachable - 15 minutes of driving. We highly recommend the place and will revisit it again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guestRaanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed at Big Lake Motel in August 2009 with my girlfriend for 3 nights. We saw a few other places around, but once we got there we just knew that we had to stay. We were welcomed by a young lady who was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was overlooking the clear water of Big Lake. The view was just amazing. I remember sitting on the deck every afternoon, enjoying the beautiful sunset and the wonderful weather. The room was extra clean and shiny, it actually felt like we were the first guests ever in that room. The continental breakfast was also excellent, there was a huge veriaty of food, including really fresh & yummy muffins... We would defenetly go back as soon as possible and we are simply jealous of those of you who are on the way there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lioneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife and I showed up here after 11pm on July 6, 2009. The gentleman running the hotel was most polite and accomodating. He was happy to show us around, even though late. The view overlooking the lake, well, pictures don't even do it justice as we have told friends back home in Tennessee. You have to see it, the whole landscape to believe it. Magnificient. The hotel, the rooms are immaculate. My wife is from Thailand, she and I have traveled many places (exotic) in the world between Nova Scotia and there. Let's say we are well traveled travelers. For the money, and nothing to do with money, I really haven't seen any hotel cleaner, more tastefully decorated, cozy, and just all out a super place to stay. Add the decor, hot water, new furniture, new bed linens and quilts, the absolute politeness and the always smiling staff, cleanliness, and surrounding scenery, you just can't beat this place. I understand alot of people want the "ocean view". You can get that anywhere in the world, and we love it too. However, treat yourself to a one of a kind spot, of the hundreds of motels/hotels I have lodged in worldwide, this is a most unique view. The area is very quiet, smells of the sea and alpine trees, we walked at sunrise, and we were moved at the astounding natural beauty. Really, words can't describe the utter natural beauty and super deal when we drove upon this hotel. And, we will be back, to this exact spot hopefully this year, and if not we will make it the next. Let me say in closing, my wife absolutely loved place, and even said she wanted to go back there. And she is not easily impressed about hotels, but loved this one. >>>Jeffntn@yahoo.com

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Lake
12.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
12.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#18 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
13.4 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clifty Cove Motel
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Lake Motel

Property: Big Lake Motel
Address: 5849 Prospect Rd, Big Lake, Nova Scotia B3Z 3T8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Big Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE LONG-DISTANCE CALLS & FREE WiFi INTERNET!!! The ONLY Hotel-Motel in the area! We are with "CANADA APPROVED- Quality First PROGRAM"! Fully licensed! The BEST in the area! PLS read reviews! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Big Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing