We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All I can say is AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Lounge

Oak Tree Lounge
Ranked #9 of 165 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jackson, MI
2 reviews
“All I can say is AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am new to Jackson as I was just transfered here by my employer. One of the other Jackson store managers wanted to meet up for a review of how March treated our two stores and what we could do to help each other and profit the company! He asked where we should go and I told him " The best spot in Jackson!" So we went to The Oak! Yes, it is small, but it has a huge heart. The staff were awesome and hilarious! And the food was even better! It is nice to find a place where you say medium rare about your burger and it literally comes out that way! Their selection of things you can make your burger up with is very in-depth and gives you a lot of selections; some which you would never find at most places!! When I start holding Store Meetings with my staff, this will be the place we ALWAYS attend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningWolf_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy with great soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I periodically eat at Oak Tree for lunch. Its best to get there early because the seating is limited and it fills up fast. Its in an old neighborhood and looks like an old house. The seating and kitchen are all in the one same space surrounded by dark paneled walls. They always have great grilled sandwiches and a variety of soups to choose from - all are great. It used to be smelly when smoking was allowed in restaurants here, but now with the smoking ban it just smells like the delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank JacksonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feel right at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stopped here because I was in Jackson for business. I'm glad I did. I had a great Turkey Ruben on a pretzel roll and got some great advice on other local places from the friendly folks inside.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A friendly neighborhood pub in Jackson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The atmosphere at the Oak Tree Lounge reminds me of a small English or Irish pub bar filled with locals who are happy to tell you their favorites on the menu. The menu is varied, the food was very good, and the service was very friendly. Next time you're in Jackson, stop by the Oak Tree Lounge for a meal and a beer.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I've been going here off and on for years. Always good food and friendly service. The broccoli salad is real good and my daughter says the cod and shrimp are good too. If you want to eat somewhere that is good but not a chain this is a good choice.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oak Tree Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Oak Tree Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing