We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Clean room, good variety for breakfast. Smokers hang out just outside building exits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at the Baymont last week on business travel. Spent most of my time out & around Jackson, so not much time in the room. If you're looking for an accessible, clean place to stay, it works. Not extravagant. The property looks a little tired. Scuffs on the walls, tired carpet, etc. However, staff was friendly. Breakfast bar decent. I found it on Priceline and bid $40, so I think total expense (after taxes) was $52.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I wanted to get away for a night before he left on an extended work location out of state. He wanted a whirlpool tub, sadly I waited and this was the only hotel with one. They were very nice when we checked in, should of known it wasn't going to be good when I used the restroom & the toilet had an elogated seat on a round front toilet. The A/C didn't work, just fan or heat and it was almost 90 in March. We climed into the old tub to cool off, turned on the jets which all of them didn't work and the smell about gagged me. I couldn't believe the smell of rotten eggs. My husband who worked in plumbing states the tub hasn't been cleaned properly and there is bateria in the lines of the tub. Between the smell of the room, way to warm and not being able to use the tub we asked to leave. They refused to give us any refund because we used the room for 1/2 hour. One costly mistake, we left drove 1/2 hour north and had a wonderful jacuzzi room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I had a nice stay and have to say that the staff was very friendly. The room was cleaned very nicely and I really can't say none too much on the negative side. The breakfast left something to be desired, the internet connection was ok, but not fast by my standards. With ice being on the ground, it would have been nice if salt had been more generously added.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDeal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

And yes - my bath tub had a hole in the bottom that had been repaired with auto bondo. And yes - There is no elevator to the second floor, just an old filthly staircase.

I checked in to the Jackson, Michigan Baymont Inn on September 19th. Upon entering and checking my room, I found the air conditioning unit was not working properly. Only the “fan” and “heat” settings worked, the “cool” setting indicator light did not come one nor did the unit blow cool air. Prior to leaving for dinner that evening I stopped at the front desk and asked that my unit be repaired or replaced prior to my return later that evening. I was assured the unit would be repaired.

Following dinner on Monday evening I returned to my room and found the air conditioning unit had not been repaired. That night I slept with my window open which allowed the nearby traffic noise to enter the room and ran the unit on the “fan” setting. It was a warm evening and I was uncomfortable all night.

Prior to leaving for work Tuesday morning (Sept 20th) I expressed to the front desk my displeasure with the fact that the air conditioning unit had not been repaired. The front desk clerk apologized and assured me that the unit would be replaced during the day.

Upon returning from work Tuesday evening I entered my room to find it extremely warm. I checked the air conditioning unit and again only the “heat” and “fan” settings were working. I went to the front desk and expressed my frustration with the fact that the air conditioning unit had not been repaired or replaced as I had requested. I was assured the unit had been replaced that day by the maintenance man and that it was working properly. I asked for someone to come with me to my room to inspect the unit and was told the maintenance man would arrive to inspect the unit with me.

The maintenance man did come to my room and looked at the unit. He explained that he had exchanged the unit for another unit in another part of the building earlier that day. I explained that while I appreciated his efforts, the “new” unit was operating the same as the old unit and that only the “heat” and “fan” settings were working. He told me that the “cool” setting worked, but that the indicator light for the “cool” setting was burned out. I asked him to make the air conditioning unit blow cold air. He played with the unit for approximately five minutes and could not get the unit to blow cold air.

Since the air conditioning unit would not blow cold air and I had been asking for the unit to be repaired or replaced since my check-in more than 24-hours earlier, I decided to check-out of the hotel and stay at another hotel Tuesday night.

I went to the front desk to check out. The desk clerk informed me that she was unable to check me out since that required a manager’s approval and there wasn’t a manager working Tuesday evening. I let her know I would not be staying at the hotel that night since the air conditioning in my room didn’t work and I wasn’t going to experience a second consecutive night of poor sleep due to the inadequate room conditions.

The clerk explained that I would need to leave my name and cell phone number, so that a manager could call me to discuss my dissatisfaction with the room. I provided this information to the clerk.

Since I was not called by a manager Wednesday as promised, I stopped back at the Baymont Inn at approximately 1:00pm to request my bill and have the room charges for Tuesday night removed. The front desk clerk was familiar with my situation and explained that check-out is noon, and that since my luggage was in the room at noon on Tuesday, I missed the check-out deadline and would be charged for Tuesday night. She further explained that the air conditioning unit had been replaced in the room and was working and therefore I had no basis for my claim of the faulty air conditioning unit. Then the maintenance person (who just happened to be nearby) came over and confirmed to the clerk that he had swapped out the unit. I confronted him and reminded him that he had played with the unit for five minutes in my presence the prior evening and couldn’t get it to blow cold air.

The discussion concluded with the clerk telling me I was wrong and explaining I would be charged in full for my two night stay even thought I only stayed for one night. I explained to her that I would protest the charge to my credit card.

This hotel was terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The room was clean enough and the bed slept good. BUT the doors up and down the hall slam shut so every time anyone goes in or out, you know it. It's also beside the freeway so you hear the traffic. I tried setting my Air Conditioner fan to ON but it kept going on and off like I hadn't changed it. The place smells like they allow smoking but my room didn't smell smoky at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_Galloway_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I checked in lugged my bags up to the 2nd floor, no elevator, open the door and find the room never cleaned at all. The manager on duty offered to check out another room with me. No way. Dump barely covers it! I spend an ENORMOUS amount of time in hotels from budget to luxury, and by far in the 10 years I have traveled this is the bottom. This hotel would make those even really seedy places seem nice. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! Try the comfort suites across the highway. I got the same rate for a very nice newer hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadguyhi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Jackson
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson
Hampton Inn Jackson
#1 of 11 in Jackson
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Chelsea
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson

Address: 2035 Bondsteel Dr, Jackson, MI 49202-1477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £70 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience homestyle comfort you will not soon forget at Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson hotel. Located off U.S. Highway 127 close to Interstate 94, our non-smoking, Jackson, MI, hotel is convenient to downtown Jackson and Jackson County Airport-Reynolds Field. Our hotel puts you close to popular attractions like Jackson County Fairgrounds. Our thoughtful in-room amenities include free Wi-Fi, microwaves and refrigerators. After a relaxing sleep, start your day with free breakfast before experiencing all that the greater Jackson area has to offer. We are a pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Jackson Hotel Jackson
Jackson Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing