We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch and Views”
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Views”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Easy walk from the Lakeside Boat terminal and with great views along the way. welcoming freindly staff . Spacious pub with plenty of seating and more great Lakeside views when you get inside. Menu choice lacking sharing platters but the sandwiches were AWESOME! The days of the DOORSTOP Tuna Sandwich are back - really tasty and made us all giggle!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    73
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and nice beer”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Having read the mixed reviews, I can only base the review on my own experience. I agree that the food is slightly on the high side, but the local lamb shank was delicious and was tasty and well cooked. The duck was equally tasty and cooked perfectly. The veg were basic, carrots, cauliflower & broccoli but equally well cooked and the new potatoes were freshly cooked as you would expect.
The rhubarb crumble with cream & ice cream was very nice.
There was an excellent range of local beers - 6 available when my wife and I visited. I sampled 4 of them and could not fault any for condition or taste.
Luckily we arrived early on a Friday, so were seated before the majority of diners arrived and were served quickly. However, other groups of diners did wait up to an hour after being seated before their meal arrived. The staff worked really hard but it was clear that they were short staffed. This is an issue that must be addressed if diners are to return and recommend to others, but overall the pub is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bunker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A lovely little pub”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I have been to the White Hart many times over the tears and always like it. The food, although still very good, is now quite expensive. I had the cumberland sausage which was lovely and served with a generous portion of chips and vegetables. My partner ordered the sunday lunch which he enjoyed. Our daughter ordered the childrens scampi which comes as per the adult meal which is in a sauce rather than battered, she didn't enjoy it but that was more down to bad choice than there being any issue with the food. She did, however, enjoy the buttery mashed carrots!
I agree with other comments on here that there are other equally as good if not better and certainly cheaper places to eat in this area, however, the white Hart feels more the traditional country pub with a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leannedoris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“White Hart Bouth”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a lovely cosy place. We stayed here in September and the place was clean welcoming, great pub food, served well and all together as there were four of us. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Well, after reading all the negative reviews I decided to go back here, I've been a few times, and it was just as good as usual!!
Yes you do have to wait quite a long time for main courses but if you want fast food go to Mcdonalds!
The main courses are too big to be honest but very fresh and well cooked. The 2nd night we just had starters and they were perfect.
Wine list is good, ales a plenty and a warm welcome - what more can you ask?
Always busy and tables are reserved early so if you want a table then book.
I Ike this place.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meloulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Backbarrow, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing