We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in the area”

The Foresters Yoxall
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Yoxall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the area”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been passing this pub for 34years on our way to church , 50yds away, and never been in for a meal, so when we had a weekend free we decided to book(advisable) and had a wonderful meal. The younger staff were particularly attentive, offering suggestions and answering queries about ingredients with confidence, the more sage members of staff were not quite as helpful and were a little gruff in their approach.
The meals were huge and well cooked - I even had to leave some gammon and a sausage(heaven forbid) as there was so much on the plate, with only five from a bowlful of beautifully fluffy chips being eaten!!!!!!!
We shall return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    53
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely evening.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited on a Monday night, when they had a "Two for One" offer on. There is a very good menu choice and an amazing. Specials Board. I started with melon and prosciutto ham, very fresh and tasty, followed by two types of fish cakes with salad and new potatoes. My husband and friend both had prawn cocktails followed by liver and bacon. Plenty of good quality liver and thick, tasty gravy. Our other friend had a salmon fillet and fresh vegetables We had their reasonably ,priced house wine which was very palatable. They were quite busy but we couldn't fault the service at all. We will definitely be going back for more, Probably next week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 749misschris749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very busy and seating was arranged to maximise the covers so quite packed in. Food was of excellent quality and huge portions were served. Very good value for money and efficient service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews but a mixed grill delight”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Paid our first visit and everyone was friendly and food was very tasty. The supersized mixed grill was to die for . No complaints at all... Looking forward to going back very soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our second visit here while visiting family and how it has changed. The lady waitress was quite rude and unfriendly. Did not have the same feel as 7 months ago. Not sure if the chef has changed as food was not of the same high standard.very disappointing as was looking forward. To it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrahagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Yoxall also viewed

Yoxall, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Foresters Yoxall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing