We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All for the want of a sauce”

The Foresters Yoxall
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Yoxall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$28
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“All for the want of a sauce”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This rebadged restaurant has the benefit of making you feel that you are eating in a private dining room even though all the dining spaces are linked together. My enquiries as to whether the 'pie of the day' was a real pie and not a pot with a lid received the absolute assurance that they had tops bottoms and sides too. However, I was seduced by the pork and black pudding on the specials board which i had with chips and vegetables. Everything was beautifully cooked and tasty but I felt that it needed a sauce of some kind to finsih it off and reduce the dryness. Nevertheless the helpings were very good and each of us enjoyed our meal. The wine was delivered uncorked, or should I say unscrewed, which could disturb the picky; however, it appeared to be what was on the label.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan1fromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    54
    15
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went to The Foresters again tonight and we cannot fault it,they were so busy so luckily we had booked for once.
I cannot believe the reviews that criticise the staff ,Amy and Scott are fantastic friendly and helpful despite being run off their feet.We were by a very noisy table and when we asked to be moved the lady in charge tonight sorted it out for immediately.
The food is excellent freshly cooked and such good value.Cannot wait to go back next week.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lolalockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the area”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been passing this pub for 34years on our way to church , 50yds away, and never been in for a meal, so when we had a weekend free we decided to book(advisable) and had a wonderful meal. The younger staff were particularly attentive, offering suggestions and answering queries about ingredients with confidence, the more sage members of staff were not quite as helpful and were a little gruff in their approach.
The meals were huge and well cooked - I even had to leave some gammon and a sausage(heaven forbid) as there was so much on the plate, with only five from a bowlful of beautifully fluffy chips being eaten!!!!!!!
We shall return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely evening.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited on a Monday night, when they had a "Two for One" offer on. There is a very good menu choice and an amazing. Specials Board. I started with melon and prosciutto ham, very fresh and tasty, followed by two types of fish cakes with salad and new potatoes. My husband and friend both had prawn cocktails followed by liver and bacon. Plenty of good quality liver and thick, tasty gravy. Our other friend had a salmon fillet and fresh vegetables We had their reasonably ,priced house wine which was very palatable. They were quite busy but we couldn't fault the service at all. We will definitely be going back for more, Probably next week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 749misschris749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very busy and seating was arranged to maximise the covers so quite packed in. Food was of excellent quality and huge portions were served. Very good value for money and efficient service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Yoxall also viewed

Yoxall, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Draycott in the Clay, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Foresters Yoxall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing