We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a TRUE 5 star restaurant but 5 star for Hillsdale County”

Olivia's Chop House
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Jonesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a TRUE 5 star restaurant but 5 star for Hillsdale County”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Well I was in the area and was looking for a NICE restaurant and came across this online a "5 star restaurant". I am a frequest to REAL 5 star restaurants such as Mortons, Ruth's Chris, Capital Grille, etc. Going in, I expected that type of service and quality. I will say the wait staff was pleasing to the eye and the atmosphere was beautiful, especially for this area. I was rather shocked as I did grow up in this area. The food was another story. We asked if the steak was aged and the waitress was PERPLEXED and I saw her ask another waitress and they both laughed. I think they thought I was joking or something; at this point I KNEW this was not a REAL 5 star restaurant. She then asked the chef and he said it was aged 16 hours; I almost laughed LOL. Nonetheless I decided to try it out and the presentation was wonderful but it was oh so bland! The calamari that everyone was raving about was some of the worst I've had as it was large as a 22" tire. Very bizarre. Please remember I'm use to the FINEST dining so perhaps Im a little tough on my review here, but again this is suppose to be a 5 star restaurant, or so they say. The bread was absolutely disgusting. We asked about the bread and she said they ran out and this was not the normal bread. Im almost positive they ran up to wal mart and got some bread out of the bakery LOL. I was hungry for dessert but after eating the lackluster food I decided against it. I did have the filet mignon dinner I might add and it was the second worst Ive ever had, as it was quite bland. Still a good value at less than $30! I will say im use to paying $50+ for a steak so I guess for the price it was pretty decent. And again, you are paying for the atmosphere and it was a beautiful restaurant. Maybe Im being a bit harsh but had this not been described as a 5 star establishment I would have given 4 stars, maybe even 5. Great restaurant but not a true 5.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VinVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service and OK food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Although we weren't in a hurry, I am not sure how the workers knew this. We got seated right away, but it took awhile to get seen and it was by the manager. We were celebrating our 25th anniv and we had purchased a package at the Munro House B&B that included dinner and a play for $50. The manager was aware of the anniversary and offered us 25% off of our meal, took our drink order, and ran off. Our waitress finally arrived to take our food order (in the meantime we saw people seated after us getting soup and salads and even their main courses!). Our food finally came and was really nothing special compared to restaurants of the same type. Prices were comparable maybe a little less, we each had one drink along with the meal and it was $50. We were full and that's OK. I mentioned about the 25% off and the waitress couldn't do anything (Nor could the manager) about it since the gift card was already processed. We might have stayed for a free dessert for our anniv but that wasn't even thought about by them. We left without dessert or a discount. People say alot of good things about this place likely because they have never been anywhere else to compare it to..........

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Father's day brunch”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were at Olivia's for Fathers day brunch and everything was excellent. Ellie was our server and she was extremely pleasant and fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrydeweerd810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was part of our weekend stay at the Munro House. I was stunned to find a 5 star quality restaurant in the small town of Jonesville, Michigan. Their food was incredible and the portions were very generous. Everything was so delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KWB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great dining choice in Jonesville”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Visiting our Daughter at Hillsdale College and
found this restaurant just down the road.
Trip Advisor reviewers rated it hightly and they are correct

This is a great choice for dining in Jonesville.
We ate lunch here and found the food excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivia's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Olivia's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing