We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Stuart Avenue Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamazoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stuart Avenue Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I want to start by saying that like Anderson Cooper, I don't usually like B&B's because it's like visiting your mother, but you don't know your mother (Anderson's description). This place is decidedly different. We stayed in the Gardener's Quarters, which seem to be part of the old carriage house. We had everything we could have wanted, including a partial kitchen, comfortable bed, homemade soap (I am guessing that Dana herself makes it...), and separation from strangers....and a totally customized, homemade from scratch hot breakfast. The pastry was so good, that I asked Dana what it was called, thinking that she wouldn't want to give out the recipe, but she is not that kind of girl. She said, "Oh, I'll email it to you," and was as good as her word (making it this weekend...OMG!) The best part of the inn are the gardens. They have an oasis of beautiful landscaping in the middle of Kalamazoo. This young organic couple are working hard to restore this beautiful mansion, and making the best of their grounds and garden. There is work to be done, but this young couple will get it there. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in town. For the price it was very lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
41
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Stuart Avenue Inn was the quaint rendezvous for us away from our Portage home. We loved the rooms and the beautiful wood work and vintage wall paper etc. The morning was a sunny yet snowy morning with a delicious breakfast. We think this place would be a great venue for a local bride and her family to host a wedding. Gorgeous gardens and plenty of room for an outdoor party.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I spent four years in Kalamazoo so my family and I have had many opportunities to experiment with accommodation options in the city but we have always chosen the Stuart Avenue Inn and will continue to do so! Our experiences at the Inn have always been perfection.

I have stayed in, and seen, many of the rooms. They are each unique, beautifully furnished with gorgeous furniture and divine little trinkets. Each room I have stayed in has also had an excellent selection of quality reading materials (magazines, novels, non-fiction, poetry). The common areas of the house are breathtaking, the layout of the house and the way the owners - Chris and Dana - have decorated it creates a very romantic and calming atmosphere.

Conversations with Dana and Chris are always a special part of the trip. They create an experience that allows you to feel cared for in a personal way but also offers you privacy. They always remember details of our conversations during previous trips and are sure to ask thoughtful, follow-up questions. It's very impressive! I would encourage anyone interested in whether the Inn could meet a particular need or preference to contact them via email.

The breakfast is just luxurious, it takes place in a gorgeous room with big windows and a high ceiling and the food is delicious.They always have breakfast staples and also serve a variety of other creative breakfast dishes. Each time, there has been something new. They have also been ready and willing to accomodate dietary preferences or restrictions.

Brief highlights of my most recent visit include: the intricate white lace curtains and antiques in my bedroom, cheesy polenta and eggs made-to-order in the morning, a luxuriously soft bath mat in my bathroom and watching the snow fall from the large windows in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paloma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornwood, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Why I will always choose local independent over Hotel Chain: Genuinely warm greeting from Innkeepers; comfortable room with character including wide selection of reading materials fiction, local authors, local guides, local magazine of poetry, and collection of local articles on restaurants and attractions collected by the Innkeepers; truly homemade breakfast of light fluffy eggs, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, and something I never would have ordered but loved - chocolate stout bread pudding. And finally – when the taxi cab didn’t show up – an Innkeeper who without hesitation or argument drove us to a memorial service despite heavy snow and slippery roads – and never charged us. You can’t find this kind of experience at a chain hotel no matter how much warm and fuzzy advertising you see.

Room Tip: Bartlett Room is Room number 1 for a reason. Quite, and toasty on a wintery weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank s_pinto71963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Our extended family (22 folks!) decided to get together between Christmas and Thanksgiving this year for one low-stress holiday party. I chose Stuart Avenue Inn sight unseen by the quality of reviews on the web and Chris and Dana's helpful responses to my emails.

I could not have been more delighted with our time there.

The house is warm and inviting, with spacious rooms and interesting spaces. The food is absolutely delicious, elegant and refined without being stuffy. Chris and Dana were fantastic hosts, fun and funny. They put up with our little Christmas traditions and were always very attentive. When I tripped and hurt my ankle, they went above and beyond to help out.

There was plenty of space for the kids to play and have fun, both inside and out. The adults also had plenty of places to relax, and we played games and talked and drank in the very comfortable sitting room spaces downstairs.

We're already talking about booking next year! I'm so very glad we found this place, it was an absolute pleasure to stay.

Room Tip: The Friends and Family suite has a ton of character, including a couple of cute little spaces for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knitmeapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Dana & Chris put us up twice over one long weekend.

On a Thursday in October, we had the place to ourselves. We picked the loft (Lois' Retreat) because we like separate beds, and prefer to be above, rather than below other people. It's also the cheapest, which was a nice bonus.

We arrived to find a plate of fruit & cheese, and two individual serving-sized wine thingies in our mini-fridge. (Each room has its own kitchenette, or full kitchen.)

The rest of the rooms were open, so we took a tour. Here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynjZgbtJ7Cc

The next morning we toured the gardens. See the pictures. It's an impressive space.

We'd planned to spend the rest of the weekend in Ann Arbor, but had an emergency and had to flee (see my review of Casa del Sol, Ann Arbor). We called Saturday afternoon, and although they were fully booked, Chris put in some extra work to make the carriage house available to us. This is a separate building, and we had an entire three room apartment to ourselves, last minute, at a great rate. It's a 1940s feel, rather than an 1880s. But we liked it a lot as well.

Heather loved the homemade pancakes, which were dark ... maybe whole grain? Or was it molasses that gave the color? I don't recall. Dana makes her own yogurt, and tortes. The coffee was not strong, but there are choices of teas.

The neighborhood is great. It's walking distance to downtown, K-College, and the WMU sports complex.

Room Tip: See the video. You'll get teh idea. There's a lot of refurbishing and reconstruction goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rob-mccolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spent a fabulous week-end in Kalamazoo at the Stuart Avenue Inn, while visiting grandchildren. The victorian decor was gorgeous, the bedroom was comfortable, clean and large, and the breakfast was outstanding. The owners were friendly and accommodating. Couldn't have asked for anything morel So thrilled we found this quiet retreat. Belvidere, the welcoming hound, was an added delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vonne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Avenue Inn

Property: Stuart Avenue Inn
Address: 229 Stuart Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stuart Avenue Inn blends history with hospitality to provide guests with the classic B&B experience. The Queen Anne house, built in 1886 sits across from Kalamazoo College and within walking distance of downtown restaurants, pubs, and nightlife. The Inn includes 8 guest rooms with private baths, TV and air-conditioning. Rooms and decor range from Victorian, to contemporary, to casual. The Inn includes a third floor suite perfect for larger parties. Breakfast is included with sweet and savory options served every morning. Vegetarian and vegan options available. Free parking. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing