We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stuart Avenue Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamazoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stuart Avenue Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Lynwood,IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

One of the better B & B's I have stayed in. Convenient location, we went biking, charming home, and interesting in-keepers. Room was neat and clean and breakfast was delicious. Chris gave us a tour of the work he had done and plans to do in the future. History of places is important to us and he filled us in well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana U, Owner at Stuart Avenue Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Hope to see you next time you're in town to check on Chris' progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
39
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Stuart Avenue Inn (cottage room) while visiting the dark horse brewery about 45 minutes away. Our short stay couldn't have been more comfortable and I personally would've liked to stay longer just to try more of Dana's and Chris's delicious cooking and company. The breakfast, lemon ricotta pancakes with rhubarb syrup, was absolutely delicious. Dana gave me a little tour of the kitchen and she even shared some recipes with me (a rhubarb upside-down cake from the NYTimes that it's currently on my to-do list).
Thank you Dana and Chris for your hospitality! We hope to be able to visit back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana U, Owner at Stuart Avenue Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We still talk about your visit and the delightful conversations. Hoping your turn with the Rhubarb was successful?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Dana and Chris were very accomodating. As professional B & B owners, they have learned the fine art of serving you, yet respecting your privacy. We chose to stay in Grandma Alta's room, who liked to play gin rummy...and of course, the room is complete with a deck. After a fun night and restful sleep, we woke up to Dana's scrumptious breakfast. Personally, I liked enjoying my breakfast coffee on the front deck in the quiet sunshine. Strolling the ample grounds will take you back in time. and as others have mentioned Belvedere is a lover ! the price is more than fair for the memories you ill make. Enjoy the hospitality...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B. We are so happy we picked this one! The house is beautiful and the hosts are extremely hospitable!

Upon arriving we were upgraded to a larger room. The room was perfect! It was extremely clean (as a matter of fact the whole house was). The room was very quiet, we thought we were the only guests. We were suprised to see other guests at breakfast.

We sat outside with Chris and Dana in the garden. The grounds are beautiful and it was interesting the hear the history of the house and Kalamazoo. We enjoyed our time with them and Belvedere (their dog).

At night Dana set out homemade cookies. The breakfast was unbelievable! They go to the extreme! The homemade rhubarb muffins, the homemade yougurt with fresh berries, a fruit salad, omelets with fresh veggies from their garden and Chris' ham and potato hash, it was all delicious!

I would definitely recommend this B&B and am looking forward to staying again. Thank you Dana and Chris!!

Gary & Karan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We opted to stay at the Stuart Avenue Inn while taking in a bit of Kalamazoo culture. All in all, it was a most pleasant experience, hitting all the points that one might hope for from a Bed & Breakfast, and minimal negatives.

The inn is located on downtown’s periphery, an easy walk to, say, the Arcadia Creek Festival Place. The neighborhood is historic district, and this B&B is located in one of the larger, more fanciful buildings in the immediate environs. The main floor front rooms of the house are available to wander through in the morning, and the grounds are beautiful and large, in the context of the urban setting. Our own room was nicely appointed in period décor. Parking was comfortably adequate. Breakfast was satisfyingly traditional, and ample. Host and hostess were friendly, efficient and helpful.

Beefs are niggling and not deal-breaking: during our stay, there was some renovation going on the exterior of the building, without significant noise or aesthetic impact. Our in-room fridge was a little noisy. What affected us most, and what is probably a function of trying to cool a 10,000 square foot Victorian mansion, is that the cooling system balance resulted in our room being pretty cool through the night – cool enough for us to spend a couple of minutes in the middle of the night looking for an extra blanket (none found) and then upping our sleeping apparel.

But all in all, a pleasant experience, pleasant enough that we rather wished that we had allowed an extra night to both relax and explore, and we would not hesitate to return to the Stuart Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whywhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana229, Owner at Stuart Avenue Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for the kind words.
We appreciate the feedback and in the future will make sure extra blankets are readily accessible in the room. We strive to make all our guests comfortable and welcome. Unfortunately in a house that’s over 120 years old, modern comforts such as AC have variable degrees of success. We too look forward to the completion of the new paint job in the coming fall. We trust the remainder of your travels were safe and enjoyable, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights here last month as part of a months holiday crossing the USA by bus and train from easy to west. It was lovely- a beautiful, interesting, old (for USA!) house and a very comfortable B&B.Nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Dana.Lots of information about what to do and see and how to get there and Chris very kindly met us off the bus and took us to catch the train.Kalamazoo in an interesting town and we would have liked to stay there longer.Thanks Chris and Dana for making our visit memorable

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ethne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Stuart Avenue Inn this past holiday weekend and had an amazing stay! We live in the neighborhood and decided to stay b/c we were looking at possible wedding venues. Since we were neighbors, they offered generously offered us a free room upgrade. The garden and grounds are beautiful and the historic house wonderfully kept. We both had wonderful conversations with Chris and Dana-about the property and a wedding at the Inn. The wedding plans are still tentative, but with such beautiful grounds and friendly, accommodating innkeepers, the Stuart Avenue Inn is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
180 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Avenue Inn

Property: Stuart Avenue Inn
Address: 229 Stuart Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stuart Avenue Inn blends history with hospitality to provide guests with the classic B&B experience. The Queen Anne house, built in 1886 sits across from Kalamazoo College and within walking distance of downtown restaurants, pubs, and nightlife. The Inn includes 8 guest rooms with private baths, TV and air-conditioning. Rooms and decor range from Victorian, to contemporary, to casual. The Inn includes a third floor suite perfect for larger parties. Breakfast is included with sweet and savory options served every morning. Vegetarian and vegan options available. Free parking. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing