We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed at the Kalamazoo House for probably 20 years. Laurel and Terry are the best owners yet! They continue to improve each and every year. On top of that, they are a joy to be around. I asked for a grab bar in the bathroom and in an hour it was installed. Evening wine sessions with the hosts before dinner are especially nice. Love that place!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I so enjoyed our stay at this beautiful and historic B & B in Kalamazoo. The owners, Laurel and Terry, are very gracious, warm, and knowledgeable of the area. They make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in. The house itself is beautifully restored, as are the rooms. Our bed was so comfortable! The shower strong! Even though you are in a house with other guests, it is very private. The breakfast was delicious and generous. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. We are already planning our next stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the advertisement for the Kalamazoo House, the picture is of a winter setting. Our experience took place last week, 8/22/13 for our 49th wedding anniversary. The gardens were lovely and the house was beautiful. You will be welcomed with gracious hospitality and truly made to feel at home. Brunch with its many choices was excellent. Laurel & Terry were wonderful innkeepers. We highly recommend this B & B as a must stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just got back from a great overnight stay in Kalamazoo. The Kalamazoo House B&B was the perfect place to stay - easy walking to restaurants downtown, quiet, and so many lovely personal touches. Laurel was there to greet us when we arrived, showed us around, and made sure we had everything we needed. We took full advantage of the warm cookies and movie collection, as well as the delicious breakfast the next morning. We'll definitely be back, and will recommend to others!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloomie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our short stay at Kalamazoo House. I was thrilled to have come across this well kept and top notch accommodation. Laurel & Terry offer wonderful hospitality at their gorgeous historic home and the area offers lots of surprises to visitors. We ate, slept and relaxed in luxury and will return to the B & B for a longer stay as soon as possible.

Room Tip: historic home - steep stairs to upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Best mini-vacation ever! The house itself is truly beautiful and the inn keepers, Terry and Laurel were wonderful. Both very accomadating and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, we had the spinach quiche and the ham and gruyere omelet. Everything was within walking distance, couldn't ask for a better location. We will definately return to this lovely bed and breakfast as soon as our schedule allows!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed there meeting our friends from Chicago as a part way destination. All I can say is the inn is amazing inside and outside. The rooms are updated and beds are very comfortable - nice that historical all is preserved.
Breakfast and was really nice touch with having a choice of various omelets etc that are very health concious and then still other options for others. Time window was 2 hour window but they were flexible. We had plates of warm chocolate chip cookies waiting for us before bed with our name on it, frig full of milk, juices, pop for our own leisure was an amazing touch with a keurig machine 24 hour use.
Inn keepers were very professional, recommending places and brief conversation to let us all catch up.

The one spot i would recommend you need to go is the Beer Exchange alot of fun- food was good and the whole experience was alot of fun.

We will be back and tell people about this find.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the third floor so if you do not like climbing stairs ask for second floor, it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingtour69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £112 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing