We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Owosso, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have stayed here twice will in Kalamazoo for a conference. I couldn't ask for anywhere better--spotless rooms, personable and helpful hosts, a fantastic breakfast, and even warm chocolate chip cookies in the evening! I will make it a point to return whenever I am in the area.

Room Tip: Visit their web site for descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
232
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

While our trip to Kalamazoo wasn't last minute--a doctor's appointment--the need to stay overnight was, due to a lake effect storm that blew up. that day. Kalamazoo House accommodated us graciously, and I am so delighted that they had rooms available! We will definitely return here.

This is a remodeled home, built in 1878, and the renovation preserved the detail in the public areas, and as much as possible in the rooms given modern needs and expectations like plugs for your electronics and en-suite bathrooms. The prices are more than reasonable, given the amenities: beds and bedding to make a princess envious, walls thick enough to silence noise from elsewhere in the building, full breakfast, warm cookies and cold milk as a bedtime snack and (depending on the room), a huge full-immersion tub in the bathroom..

The location too is part of the value: it's within blocks of a range of restaurants, a mile from Bronson Hospital and other associated medical facilities (the reason for our visit today and for a planned future stay) and, though this didn't apply on this trip given the weather, a block or so away from Bronson Park, should guests manage to tear themselves away from the Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are split between the second and third floors--the ground floor is given over to public spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjhenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the charming Kalamazoo House Bed & Breakfast as we had business at the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, conveniently right next door. When we arrived, proprietors Laurel and Terry were personable, welcoming and gave us a tour and history of the house. Our room (#3) was beautifully appointed and the bed was very comfortable with fine linens. The en suite bathroom was brightly lit and included embroidered robes for our use. Fresh flowers were by the bedside. A carafe of water was nearby. We ordered our breakfast and time the day before from Terry’s varied menu. Breakfast was served promptly in a lovely dining room by the fireplace. The omelet and frittata were handsomely presented with homemade bread, delicious and filling.

The electric, remote controlled fireplace added a safe, cozy touch, especially since the weather was frigid. When our car wouldn’t start and we were about to call for road service, Terry volunteered to jump start it. That worked and saved us a lot of time.

The B&B is near The Park Club of Kalamazoo, where we dined as guests, and the Central City Tap House, among other attractions.

We would highly recommend the Kalamazoo House Bed & Breakfast for anyone travelling to or near Kalamazoo, MI.

Susan and Norm Stewart, Bloomfield Hills, MI

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tude5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The entire house is beautiful. I had an opportunity to peek into several of the rooms before they were occupied. Every one decorated comfortably, with a warm cozy feeling. The room we stayed in had a king size bed, and the sheets were heaven. We had plenty of space in the room to sit and relax without being right up to the bed. You'll want to sign up for breakfast the night before and you'll be glad you did. Terry is an excellent chef. The whole experience from checking in to checking out was very smooth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearegohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th Anniversary. Our schedule changed at the last minute, so we scheduled with only a few days of notice. The hosts were amazing, knowledgable, and accommodating. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable - we were in Room #10 and really enjoyed the soaking tub and rain shower. The breakfast was amazing! We are talking serious chefs here! We will definitely be back, and hopefully will be able to stay for longer.

Room Tip: Room #10 has the best of both worlds - both a huge tub / great shower and a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We visited the Kalamazoo House to celebrate our first anniversary. We mistimed our drive and arrived early but Terry was happy to welcome us regardless. We felt right at home from the get go. We stayed in room #5.The bed was wonderfully comfortable with nice linens. Refreshments were waiting in the room on arrival. The bathroom was good size, with quality toiletries. I took advantage of the whirlpool tub which was clean and relaxing. The robes in our rooms were clean, fluffy, and comfy. The TV was nice quality and had an HDMI hook up. The tower fan in each room is a nice touch. Breakfast is outstanding! Terry’s creations were all wonderful, including his homemade bread. The breakfast room is cozy atmosphere. The common room is the perfect place for lunch, games, or puzzles – all of which we did while watching the local NFL game.
Though we came in the fall, the gardens were still enjoyable because of the art and decorations. The side porch is cozy and relaxing. I took advantage of the massage package that the inn offers and would do so again. Great value and lovely massage.
It's clear from our stay that Laurel and Terry are born to run an inn! They'd thought of everything. Plenty of refreshments around the inn. Coffee, tea, water, soda, and milk (of all sorts) available all the time, with cookies fresh baked before bed. Both Laurel and Terry were provided great conversation and seemed to always be easy to locate, without being overbearing. We felt we had just the right amount of privacy without feeling left without an innkeeper. Terry and Laurel are very in touch with the local community and were ready with information about the happenings around Kalamazoo. Terry knows his restaurants and steered us (foodies) in the right direction.
Not only would I stay here again, but my husband and I are planning on visiting again this Spring. Only this time we'll be bringing our brother and sister-in-law along. A gem like the Kalamazoo house is meant to be shared.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Thank you to the hosts for a great package: location, hospitality, and food. We walked all over town from the prime but quiet location. Your knowledgeable suggestions for where to visit were as welcome as the kind conversation. Your breakfasts raise the bar where many BnB's do not work hard - delicious and interesting to have a different menu daily. Finally, the property is beautiful - historic, well-maintained, with very cozy bedrooms (we stayed in the master suite). Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intlbizwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing