We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful old home in the center of K'Zoo. The proprietors could not be more friendly and accommodating.

The location is also near perfect, next to the Museum of Art and within an easy walk of many excellent pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night while seeing a performance in the local Miller Auditorium. The hosts were very hospitable and welcoming when we arrived, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was wonderful. It's located between some one way streets which tripped us up when arriving, but no problems.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank tdm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My spouse and I truly enjoyed our three day stay at The Kalamazoo House B&B. It was not only convenient to downtown, the Art Institute, and other sites, but it was convenient to where our son is living.

The breakfast was delicious and varied with choices for all. For other meals, one only needs to walk out the door and down the street.

The owners are pleasant and not intrusive. They have a light touch, but are sincerely interested in their guests.

And, yes, we will stay again when in town--if we can!

Room Tip: From what I could tell there is not a bad one in the bunch and we had one of the less costly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent 5 nights at the Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast while we were looking for housing before I start attending the new medical school in the fall. We had such a great time at this lovely B&B. Laurel & Terry are the nicest people ever; sociable and accommodating. They know the area well and can offer good tips on what to see/eat/drink during your time in Kalamazoo. The breakfasts were to die for and were very filling; complete with fruit, homemade bread, juice, and the main course. I was really impressed with all of the different options for breakfast; we stayed almost a week and we never had the same thing twice. They even served yummy cookies and milk every evening. The building, rooms, and garden are beautiful and the location is very central. They have a wide selection of DVDs to choose from for when you get tired of walking around all day and they always have coffee, tea, sodas, and water available downstairs. We stayed in Room #3, the Fireplace King, and we really enjoyed it. The linens and robes were very comfy and the provided lotion, body wash, and hair dryer were nice.

The only tiny negatives were: if you happened to lie on the crack between the two twin beds it wasn't that comfortable, the faucets in the sink and shower were creaky, the water pressure in the shower wasn't ideal, and it took me a while to figure out how to turn it on to the right temperature.

My family will be staying here in September when they visit for the white coat ceremony, this B&B is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are a local Kalamazoo couple who have stayed in this B&B now three times, each occasion in a different season, year and room. Our visits have been fantastic each time. It is such a treat to walk to all of the bars, breweries, restaurants, shows, galleries ... that we normally have to drive to and find parking. Laurel and Terry are gracious hosts who have lovingly and very comfortably created their B&B from an historic home. Highly highly recommend to locals and those afar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My new husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Kalamazoo House. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast selections were vast and all delicious, and the fresh-baked cookies and milk every night were an icing on the cake. Laurel and Terry were incredibly friendly and accommodating, and full of lovely suggestions for how the locals enjoy Kalamazoo and the surrounding area. If you're looking for some relaxation and pampering, this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the parking lot to the bedroom on the third floor every detail was lovingly attended to. Laurel is a perfect and accommodating hostess beaming with friendliness and helpful with information about what to do during your visit. The bedroom was luxuriously appointed with very comfortable beds, sheeting, pillows, towels and robes. And a breakfast that you choose both well made and beautifully presented. I highly recommend The Kalamazoo House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 32 in Kalamazoo
244 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £126 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo
The Kalamazoo House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing