We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love visiting Kalamazoo, and I just spent two great nights at the Kalamazoo House! The bed was comfy. The breakfast was great! The hospitality was without equal! I hope to have the occasion for visit again soon!

Room Tip: While all the rooms are great, the larger rooms with a king size bed are especially nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are staying in Kalamazoo, Michigan, stay at the Kalamazoo House. Walking distance to everything and a great environment. Beautiful house and gracious hosts. Next time we are in area we will stay at this B&B.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the corner with the view of the Art Gallary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

this home is simply wonderful. I stayed 2 nights and would have loved to stay a week. Laurel and Terry were wonderful to their guests and made sure we felt like family. Their breakfasts were so awesome, I took photos! And the home made chocolate chip cookies before bed - a lovely touch indeed. I walked around at night and enjoyed some great restaurants and shops a couple blocks away. I attended SteamDream expo in Augusta, Michigan, and when i wore my steampunk attire, I felt totally at home in this lovely house. Oh, and we had wonderful guitar and mandolin music in the evening. You must add this place to your must-do list!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

5 nights in July, 2014, we stayed in an old house that had been converted into an Inn and then a B&B. It was a beautiful house - almost downtown Kalamazoo right next to the art museum. It was a nice location. After we got unpacked and looked around for a bit, we walked about 1 1/2 blocks over to a Brew Pub (Gonzo’s BiggDogg Brewery) where we had a nice meal. We ate outside and the weather was perfect. Then we walked back to our B&B and walked those 19 steps up to our bedroom! We had an early night with chocolate chip cookies and milk and really slept well. We had a nice room with a recliner so Will could stretch out his legs. And we had a walk-in shower which was great. The bed and the linens were both nice and there was a fireplace which we used when the room was cool. The only slight negatives: we wished for more light in the room and the stairs were hard for us oldies with bad knees, but we knew that ahead of time. We just worked it where we only used the stairs once a day!

Our breakfast was simply wonderful every single day. We had a choice in entrées, always had a huge delicious fruit plate & 3 kinds of homemade bread to choose from & and many things to our liking. The following are some of the Breakfast Entrees which we chose for 5 mornings!
Banana Nut Crunch French Toast
Apple, Blue Cheese and Bacon Baked Frittata
Blueberry Pancakes
Eggs Benedict
Steel Cut Oatmeal (with bacon!)
Bacon, Cheese, potato omelet which was just the best!
We strongly recommend staying at the Kalamazoo B&B if you ever have an opportunity.

Room Tip: Check their website which is very thorough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brahmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There is so much to do in Kalamazoo that we didn't get to spend nearly enough time in the inn. It is so lovely that I could just curl up in the room, gather in the parlor, or read a book on the porch if I had had more time. You can walk to most everything from the inn. Terry and Laurel are so welcoming and make a stellar breakfast. The rooms are luxurious and wonderfully kept to period is possible while keeping modern amenities. Fresh nightly cookies are nice too! We hope to stay again next year!

Room Tip: The original owners' suite is super luxurious with a large bathroom that includes two-person mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful old home in the center of K'Zoo. The proprietors could not be more friendly and accommodating.

The location is also near perfect, next to the Museum of Art and within an easy walk of many excellent pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night while seeing a performance in the local Miller Auditorium. The hosts were very hospitable and welcoming when we arrived, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was wonderful. It's located between some one way streets which tripped us up when arriving, but no problems.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank tdm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £112 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing