We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olympia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cookie under the bed table and crumbs on the floor. The freezer was froze over so we could not freeze our ice containers...not a good experience butt hey did give us a full refund. I choose not to say anything else. take what I have given you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    93
    58
    41
    29
See reviews for
149
65
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel had a friendly and helpful staff. The room was huge, and accommodated our family of 5, 3 being teenagers! The microwave in our room didn't work, but we used the one in the lobby. It wasn't a big deal to us. Although we didn't use the pool or fitness room, it looked well kept. The breakfast had lots of bread choices, (ie bagels, muffins, waffles, toast), but they were out of yogurt, which I would have preferred. Otherwise, there were many choices of both hot and cold breakfast items. We would stay here again if we are in the area. Great value for a family of 5 that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elenag841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for your business while a guest of ours in Kalamazoo. We appreciate your feedback, and are very pleased the hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be very accommodating for you and your family. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our expanded breakfast buffet, and we will make sure to have extra yogurt available next time you are in town :)

We hope to see you again on your next visit, take care.

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Not recommended for a woman traveling alone! Lobby is dark and dreary, rooms are old, air conditioner wouldn't shut off, bed was old and floppy.....some shady people around the hotel. I was in the room for 10 minutes and checked out!! I just couldn't do it!! Found Hampton Inn down the road, much better!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest TinaMarie,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am very concerned with the items you have mentioned about your stay, as they seem to be quite different than a typical experience or description of our hotel. Our lobby is quite open and well lit, and the location of our hotel is in a rather quiet area with mostly friendly and upscale clientele. All of the bedding and decor of our rooms is rather new and well kept, and we often receive praise and compliments on the quality of our bedding. If this was not the case for your room, I would like to look into this immediately.

I would be more that happy to discuss these items with you directly, and would appreciate a moment of your time to speak with you about your experience. If you could please take a moment to contact me at 269.350.5522, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you very much for your time and comments,

Steven Hatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

In the past five years we have been staying at this particular Best Western in Kalamazoo. We have always had quality service and excellent rooms. The hotel staff has always been kind, polite, and courteous. The first time we stayed at this property I accidentally left the iPod on the bed. I called to inquire about it later that day and it wasn't in the Lost and Found, But, two days later I received a call from the manager telling me that it had been found in another place. I was able to pick up the iPod later that days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Charlene K,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel, we really appreciate your comments! I am glad that you have always found or staff friendly, and rooms comfortable and clean. We appreciate your continued business and will work our best to keep earning it. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kalamazoo.

Take Care!

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is great for families visiting WMU as it is only 5 minutes from campus and right off the highway. Rooms are clean, good size and have kitchens. Great if you are staying for a few days. We will stay here again when we come to visit for parents weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi MichellK!

Thank you very much for your kind review, and for your business. We are very happy to hear that your family has enjoyed your stay at our hotel while visiting Western Michigan University. I agree that our hotel is very convenient when visiting the campus, and we look forward to having you as our guest again this fall for the Parents Weekend events at WMU.

Thanks again, see you soon!

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLARKSTON
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Basically just oversized hotel rooms. Having all of that space to spread out made the family stay just that little bit more comfortable. Would definitely stay there again. Breakfast that is included could use some help. Food was average - and there was no where near enough seating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you found our guest suites spacious and comfortable for your family. I am glad that you made use of our complimentary breakfast buffet, and we are currently looking into expanding this area, and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Kalamazoo.

Take Care,

-Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

While traveling from Ontario, Canada to Kansas we stayed overnight in Kalamazoo, Michigan. The Best Western Plus was very comfortable and clean. Our room was large, the breakfast area one of the largest I've ever seen in a BW. The pool area and exercise room which we did not use, did look very clean and a good size. The breakfast was pretty much the normal BW breakfast, but the waffles for some reason were better than usual. The price was moderate and I think it was a good value for our $$'s. We would definitely recommend it and stay here again should we pass through this way again in the future.

Room Tip: We had 208 right beside the elevator. Thought it would be a noise problem, but once inside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenHatto, Manager at Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello KansasTravelers,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a nice comment on your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel clean, and that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast buffet. We hope to see you again if you travel through the Kalamazoo, MI area.

Thanks again!

-Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.2 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Address: 2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, a newly renovated all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator, and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy a delicious complimentary deluxe breakfast each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing