We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Convenient location, close to highway exits yet very quiet. We enjoyed our room while visiting family in Kalamazoo. Very clean and comfortable. We've stayed here in the past and enjoy the comfort and layout of the rooms. We even were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a one bedroom suite but declined as we found the room we had was more than ample for our two-day stay. I especially liked the room darkening shades to block out the light as I am sensitive to light when sleeping.

Room Tip: These suites are nice enough for extended stays while vacationing in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have been able to accommodate you during the visit with your family! Please stay with us again on your next trip to Kalamazoo. Your Candlewood "family" thanks you!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Truly up to the high standards of the Candlewood chain: extremely clean, and a perfect little kitchen with full-size fridge. We liked it's quiet location, especially being so near to I-94.
The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and had a witty reply to my question when I asked what time they rolled-out the breakfast buffet: he said that their breakfast sandwiches (from their lobby pantry) are available 24x7 and are very tasty when microwaved by us up in our room!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwilaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

We are pleased and delighted that you were happy with your accommodations and with the "witty reply" of our Guest Services Associate (Michael)! When I shared your cheerful comments with him ..... that gave him such a chuckle and made his day! Our entire Candlewood family thanks you for your stay!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Convenient to the interstate on the outskirts of Kalamazoo. Designed for the business traveler staying for multiple nights - more than ample kitchen, huge work desk. Leather recliner a nice touch. Clean, comfortable, quiet accommodations.

Be aware that daily housekeeping service is spartan by design - you're asked to swap out towels and linens at the front desk if you desire fresh outside of the weekly or post departure full cleaning. No pool, indoor or outdoor. Non pedestrian friendly location, you'll need to drive for restaurants, groceries, etc. Small pantry off the lobby with some grocery and breakfast items for purchase. Families with kids would be better served with another hotel serving breakfast, having a pool, etc. but a very serviceable hotel for the multi-night business traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeRivers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thanks so very much for your response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations. We are happy to we fit your hotel needs! Thanks again for staying and please visit us again should you return to Kalamazoo.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Recently, my family and I stayed at this hotel after having to stop over in Kalamazoo for a bit. It's tucked away in a quiet area, and is so clean and modern. I could get a peaceful night's sleep without the loud noise of the city. The laundry facilities are convenient and clean, and the work-out room was filled with state-of-the-art equipment. Since I like the temperature to be extra cold in my room, Debbie Mahone, the General Manager, moved us to another room right away without a problem and made sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay a comfortable one. The customer service and friendliness of the General Manager and staff here are excellent; without question. Everyone at this hotel treated us like family. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

We genuinely appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are absolutely delighted that you are pleased with your stay! It is our hope that you continue to consider us an extension of home!!!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here while on business in Kalamazoo. Located out of town in a quiet spot a couple of minutes from the interstate. A Denny's 2 mins away was good but rooms have full kitchens if you feel so inclined. The hotel is spotless and very modern. Very good value for money and perfect for business. Not gret if staying for more than a couple of days as rooms are only made up once a week.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Our entire staff takes such pride in our beautiful new hotel and we are happy to see that it shows! We thank you for your positive remarks and hope to see you on a return visit to Kalamazoo for either business or leisure.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for 9 months and will be here several more months. We have always received great service. When we have questions or need assistance, we communitcate to the staff at the front desk and have always received prompt assistance and great service. The hotel is quiet. No highway noise. When the staff found out that it was our anniversary, we arrived back at the hotel that evening to find a card and cake in our room. We appreciated the thoughtfulness of the staff and manager. We use all the facilities at the hotel and have found the exercise and laundry room clean and organized for our use. The hotel sponsors manager appreciation evenings a few times a week and the food is catered by local businesses. The food is good and plentiful. Always enjoyable. The hotel is convenient to restaurants, casinos and events in the Kalamazoo Area and only 30 to 45 minutes to the lake. Great Location!!

Room Tip: Love the 4th floor, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

The entire Candlewood "family" wishes to extend a sincere thanks to you for your kind words! It is truly rewarding to have the opportunity of serving such valued guests and we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments. We recognize that guests have choices as to their rooming needs ----- and we are absolutely delighted that you chose us! Many Thanks!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The place was fine. It was very clean. Really, really quiet. No highway noise. No crazy mechanical noises in the walls, etc.

The elevator might be the slowest machine ever. After my first use I just used the stairs. The building is only four floors; I really could not believe how slow the elevator was. Clearly not a big deal.

I don't think there was anywhere to eat in the hotel. I am not totally sure as I was up & out early both of the days I was there and never looked.

The room had a nice kitchen setup. Again, very clean. The bed was comfy and they have the overstuffed pillows like all hotels do these days.

The bathroom was standard with tiling, granite counter sink and fiberglass shower. Their soap/shampoo was the el cheapo stuff.

My only complaint would be the towels. They were really not soothing at all. They were a rough material and more of a rag than a fluffy towel you would like to towel off with.

The hotel had free wi-fi which is good and I now expect to have anywhere I stay.

I had to laugh because I just was at the Westin in Austin, Texas that costs about 4 times what this place costs and they hit me up for $15/day for wi-fi in my room. What a total joke.

The TV seemed to have alot of channels that did not have good reception. I didn't care...I just had ESPN on which came in fine.

Given how clean and quiet the whole place was, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt_dot_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo. We realize there are numerous hotel options available to you in the area, so thank you choosing to stay with us and give us feedback on your stay. I apologize the elevator did not meet your expectations. We have had our elevator inspected and while no mechanical issues have been detected, I do apologize the speed of operation was not satisfactory to you. While we do not have a restaurant in the hotel, we do have The Candlewood Cupboard, a 24 hour sundries and refreshment area, adjacent to the front desk. There are multiple refreshments as well as meal options available for you in the Cupboard as well as complimentary coffee, tea and fresh fruit. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations with our cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel so we're very pleased that you were happy with the not only the layout of your room, but the cleanliness as well. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the softness of your towels. After speaking with our Housekeeping Supervisor, it was brought to my attention that we had a glitch in our fabric softener dispenser thus not getting the proper amount of fabric softener on each load of laundry washed. We have thus corrected this problem and the towels now have a softer feel. We truly want every guest to feel as if they are home away from home while staying with us so we have complimentary amenities to reflect just that. We're glad you were able to utilize our complimentary high speed internet access. We have 12 access points for rapid speed connectivity. If you are ever in the area again, we would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations with your overall stay (with freshly softened towels, of course! :) We again want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
7.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
3.7 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
5.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3443 Retail Place Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-8819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £66 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing