We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent long-term stay experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for 30+ days after I sold my home. The staff was friendly, helpful of all requests, and respected my privacy. Housekeeping staff was friendly, respectful of my things, and were careful with my 2 cats. The hotel does allow pets for what I thought was a modest fee of $75 that pays for a thorough cleaning of the room upon your leave. With some minor exceptions, the room was comfortable and clean, including the beds. Rooms were also designed for longer stays and included a regular sized refrigerator, stove top, microwave, pans, dishes, ect. While it lacked a pool or breakfasts, I appreciated the free on-site laundry. This was an excellent long-term stay, and I intend to stay at other Candlewood Suites.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, which was very quiet, even by the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Jaime,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you stay at the hotel and to be able to get to know you! I hope that the move went well for you. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Candlewood Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

By paying just a little more in this area I felt safe. The other hotels around there are nasty, this one is brand new. Great location and friendly service. Quiet and the beds are super nice! If you have never stayed at one of these hotels you will be very impressed. Thanks again for the stay we will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank anjill4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Anjill4you,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy to see that you enjoyed staying at our property! We take pride in the service we give guests and try and go out of our way to make our guests feel safe and secure when staying with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were temporarily working in the Southern Michigan. The Candlewood Suites was found on the internet as a local hotel with a full kitchen. We travel a lot for work and a kitchen was a necessity.

We were on the 2nd floor looking north. The room was clean and the room comes with a desk for working and a comfortable leather chair for the seldom but necessary relaxation. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and silverware. We were surprised with the full size refrigerator and a dishwasher. The dishwasher was a welcome addition.

We found the bed comfortable and in good condition. We were especially happy with the staff and a particular recognition of Brittany (sp). She was always a happy and welcoming face. She was articulate at check in and always smiling when we walked through the lobby.

The hotel has a small snack and refrigerated area for various items for purchase. They also have a work center with a laser printer.

Overall, we were overwhelmed with the staff and the convenient location. One of the best hotels we have stayed in while working.

We would highly recommend the hotel for your business travel needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Woody,

Thank you so much very much for the review! I speak for the rest of the staff when I say it was truly a pleasure having you stay at our hotel. I know you are enjoying that Arizona weather right now in your flip flops and shorts but hopefully you come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a beautiful, modern hotel. We stayed in a King suite and it was gorgeous. So clean and accommodating. They had all of the necessary essentials for the kitchenette and also left us a bag of popcorn on the counter. They had a great selection of food available to purchase and DVD's to rent! The staff was so helpful and friendly. The only complaint I have is that there were some crumbs in the pull out couch mattress. I think it might have gotten missed during cleaning. Other than that, wonderful experience. We will definitely be staying here again and you should too!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLambright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

LLambright,

I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the special perks Candlewood offers. I am sorry to hear about the crumbs in the pullout sofa. I have made our executive housekeeper aware of the issue so the next time you visit us this will not happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I travel across the country the majority of the year. I stay a large part of it at the Candlewood. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, location is secure and the staff are more than accommodating. I would definitely recommend this motel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Michelle,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while at our property! We take pride in the cleanliness of rooms. Hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in the Kalamazoo area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The accomodations are still good in that the rooms are well kept, the bed is fine. Some time between when I started staying there regularly and now they have shifted a few things. They only seem to offer really stiff and too full pillows which are hard to get a good nights sleep on. The blowdryers in many rooms don't work and there are not enough extra to borrow so I had to try and dry my hair over the room heater. The milk I picked up at their food pantry was bad. The internet never really works well anymore. The refrigerator in the current room is noisy. It is a shame as this was my favorite place to stay when I came in once a month to Kalamazoo but the little things are starting to add up. The staff is always very nice and tries to help. The internet issues seem to be 'unsolvable' with the tech support always saying it is my ipad and not their system. Hmmm, the ipad works all day great at work then only slows to a crawl when at the hotel. This seems like a hotel router issue or something else specific to the property. I would stay a good place to stay if you are not concerned about having internet or depending on other hotel items and like a good hard pillow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear kristen k,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations this particular day and regret that you were not satisfied with the conditions of the pillows you received. I have taken note of your comments regarding the internet service Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the quality of products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nicer than I was expecting. I was disappointed that breakfast was not included however my room was full suite with stove so perhaps that is why. Most hotels in this price range do offer breakfast though. In addition, the internet was a bad connection and my phone and computer were bumped off internet connection repeatedly. The room was clean with nice large desk for work.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gerdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.7 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
7.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3443 Retail Place Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-8819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing