We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique brewery with good food too”

Bell's Eccentric Cafe
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan, the Eccentric Cafe, located next to the Bell's General Store, is home to a unique offering of craft beer, live music, entertainment, delicious food and more.Any given time, we have between 20 and 40 different beers on tap. Many are exclusive to the Cafe and are brewed right next door at our original brewery - just look for the yellow tags on the Draft Board when you visit.
Central Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boutique brewery with good food too”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I don't drink beer, but I liked the pub anyway. There is a wide assortment of sandwiches, from grilled cheese to French Dip to vegetarian. Salt and Pepper potato chips and a crisp pickle accompanied my sandwich. The prices are reasonable and the ambiance of the open, airy space decorated with quirky junk is delightful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    182
    59
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place to Go”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

of course the Beer is great. I always love to try their experimental batches. Then its fun to see if they get popular enough to make it into production. But I want to let everyone know how great the food is!. Things are done simply but simply well. Made with very fresh ingredients you cant go wrong.
Cheers and Mangia

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnRonFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, MI
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hot & noisy”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The outside temp was in the low 80's but it was a lot warmer in the café. We tried to sit in the upper loft area but it was much too warm and we couldn't hear ourselves talking. If the AC was working, it didn't nothing to relieve the heat. Ordering food is accomplished by standing in line, in our case it was 20 minutes, and then waiting until your electronic tether vibrates, again in our case it was almost an hour. Then our order was wrong so we waited another 25 minutes to get the corrections. Not good. On the plus side, there are some table outside but the café was very busy and all were taken. Moral of the story; don't go on a warm Friday evening and expect the best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Beer.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've been here twice and haven't been disappointed yet. The food is typical pub grub, but high quality pub grub with very generous portions. The beer is the real draw though. This is where the experimental, not in stores, production occurs. The beers are great, but sadly only 3 of the standard Bell beers, and I think one of the experimental ones were available for growler sales. The growler station is new and wasn't there in 2013 when I was there the first time.

The patio is great in warm weather, but you need to grab a few beers when you're in line at the bar. I don't know why but that line moves very slowly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianD317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The food is good,but go for the beer”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The menu is a little limited, but the food is mainly barbeque and overall, above average. Bell's is really a great place to go for awesome (well priced) beers and some of Larry Bell's experimental stuff. Great atmosphere, good outdoor space.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AR4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell's Eccentric Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bell's Eccentric Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing