We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pasta at a reasonable price.”
Review of Mangia Mangia

Mangia Mangia
Ranked #43 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mangia Mangia brings you a tradition in Italian food that's traveled the world and spanned several generations. We offer recipes born out of old-world traditions and prepared with expert care, from Nonna Rosa's spaghetti sauce that's been in the family since 1936 and served to diners in West Michigan ever since, to new culinary creations presented with authentic style. Our restaurant's name comes from what any Italian grandmother would tell her family and guests at the dinner table. "Mangia, Mangia." Eat, eat! And enjoy. Click HERE to like Mangia Mangia on Facebook and see what's going on daily at your favorite local Italian restaurant!
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy pasta at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A group of 7 visited on a Sunday night. Pleasant atmosphere, with pleasant background music piped in. All but 1 ate various pasta dishes, and we all enjoyed (and shared) our meals. We had plenty to take home, too. The linguini with clam (olive oil sauce), fettuccine alfredo, and lasagna were delicious, but our favorite was the rigatoni with mushroom (and chicken?). The pasta was cooked perfectly and the mushroom sauce was lick-the-bowl good. Everybody wanted some of that (2 of us ordered it)! We didn't have wine, but a couple of us had cocktails. We all had soup or salad. We got out of there under $200 (inc. tax and tip). Not bad! Our family lives locally (we were just visiting), and they all agreed Mangia Mangia would be their "pasta place."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't order the "Napoleon"”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sorry but, this was not a good dish. I was looking for something gluten free, interesting with lots of veggies but, this was a bowl of marinara with large chunks of portabella mushrooms and not much else. The marinara was ok but not that great. The salad that accompanied it was romaine, tomatoes and cheese...not very interesting either. On the positive side they do have dishes labled gluten free and they do have gluten free pasta (but they use a translucent rice pasta with odd texture and no taste). The server was lovely and helpful but, the food???

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hair in Food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Mangia Mangia is normally a great restaurant. This time however we had 4 different strands of hair in 3 of our dishes. Server was surprised but did not offer to bring new entrees. An off night for Mangia Mangia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was open....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were in Kalamazoo for a Sunday night show at the State Theater, so we decided to come in early to grab dinner before. A LOT of things in the area are closed on Sunday (or at least they were closed by the time we got there). The restaurants appeared to be open and this one had decent reviews so we tried it.

Pros:
Waiter was not bad, a little too casual at times but overall good
Nice setting / decor
Cute name

Cons:
Food was.... bland. It wasn't bad, it was just boring. My manicotti had no flavor in the sauce or in the cheese. My husband reported the same about his lasagna. Generally when we are eating at a good Italian restaurant, we can't get enough. However at Mangia, Mangia I had left overs and I just stopped eating it. Not even worth saving.

I will not be returning to this restaurant. We don't go to Kalamazoo often, and if we do visit again we will seek another restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivasuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Mi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Two of us dined early on a Tuesday evening. In all fairness, we were the only table at the time we arrived. It was our first visit and we were impressed with the views. Very tasteful and low lighting, and clean. The staff could have been a little quieter. For app we ordered Bruschetta. It was beautifully presented, but had a little too much Balsamic making it a bit too "wet". I had Chicken Piccata and partner had Lasagna. Portions were large, and taste was wonderful! A salad did come with one of the dinners. Price seemed fair with the salad included. I can't wait share this spot with someone else and return again on a weekend to see if the staff handles a crowd as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefSearching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangia Mangia also viewed

 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Mangia Mangia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing