We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch!”

Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
Ranked #6 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Kalamazoo Beer Exchange is a two-story multi-tap bar and grill located in the beautifully restored Globe Building in downtown Kalamazoo. Offering 28 rotating draught beers from around the world, The Exchange opens at 6 p.m., where draught beers are priced on real-time sales, like the stock market. Occasional "market crashes" drop beer prices to their all-time low. The food menu features pub fare with a twist, where classic dishes will be made new again.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I were in Kalamazoo for the day and decided to try the Kalamazoo Beer Exchange for lunch.
Food was excellent and the prices were good. We both liked the warehouse-style atmosphere, and our server was very friendly and prompt.
We will visit the Beer Exchange on our next visit to Kalamazoo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    95
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A total blast for some craft beer loving Canadians!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This place is a whole ton of fun. There were just two of us but we had a great time socializing with locals and other travelers, and really enjoyed the fun of "playing the market". Some really excellent beer on tap and the market "crashed" within about 10 minutes of us arriving, so we had lots of catching up to do! Really nice service and the building was a great backdrop for our final stop in the city.

We'll be back to this Beer Exchange on our next trip to K-zoo, for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeagAlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, MI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hoping for a "Market Crash"”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

A group of us, both beer aficionados and novices to craft brewing (me), had a great time. Between the 4 of us we probably tried a dozen or more brews, and if you aren't sure what you'd like, the staff is really helpful (Thank you, Misty!) with suggestions or shot-sized samples of beer on tap. We also ordered appetizers (Stuffed portobello, mushroom crepes, kale salad...everything was really good) and desserts (Bourbon peach crisp, chocolate mousse parfait).
The fun thing is, after 6 the beers and prices go on the "exchange" board and the clock starts counting down from 20 minutes. At 0.00 the prices change...some up, some down...and at some point there may be a "market crash" when many prices dip WAY down. You have 5 minutes to get your previously-priced $10 beer for $6! You never know what the next price will be, but if you wait it out for a crash, you might score a real bargain. Beers are normally priced from about $3 to maybe a top in the $10 range, so there's something for everyone
We didn't order a full plate but I plan to go back for a burger or full dinner. The KBE is in a beautiful old business and draws a lot of young professionals after work. It's upscale bar-scene noisy but you can still have a conversation..at least until the market crashes!
I had 2 relatively expensive craft brews (just had to try that coconut almond brown one), a filling appetizer and dessert for $24. And learned more about Kalamazoo's thriving downtown beer scene

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Cool concept”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is one of the places I recommend to people visiting my old hometown.

It's a fun bar with a cool gimmick - every so often, the beers change price. That encourages you to sample a ton of different drinks, and that's half the fun of drinking. You'll find yourself trying beer you'd normally never order.

I've only been here for drinks, so I can't speak to the quality of the food.

On our most recent visit, our server somehow managed to split the check for a table of 20, and keep track of who ordered what, even though we were constantly moving around. That guy was awesome.

My Kalamazoo people have a pretty terrible track record of supporting downtown businesses, but I sure hope the Beer Exchange has a long life.

The alternative is Shakespeare's. And seriously, F that place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowmanInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Competitive beer drinking for economics geeks”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

With seats at the bar, we passed the better part of a Saturday evening watching the trending prices and trying to make our own predictions / identify the best value beer on a variety of increasingly intricate scales (regular price, ABV, most rare selection). Great fun! We drank more than we should have, especially when there was a market crash, but no complaints here. Food was tasty, too and service friendsly and helpful. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalamazoo Beer Exchange also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Kalamazoo Beer Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing