We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accountants dream”

Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
Ranked #6 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Kalamazoo Beer Exchange is a two-story multi-tap bar and grill located in the beautifully restored Globe Building in downtown Kalamazoo. Offering 28 rotating draught beers from around the world, The Exchange opens at 6 p.m., where draught beers are priced on real-time sales, like the stock market. Occasional "market crashes" drop beer prices to their all-time low. The food menu features pub fare with a twist, where classic dishes will be made new again.
denver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Accountants dream”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place is simply a gimmick, run by accountants, geared towards the unfortunate residents who are not bright enough to get out of this rust-belt Mecca. Not only woud I stay out of this hole, but I would try to avoid the whoe town as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    97
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique experience for beer lovers”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

If you are in the area and can't decide where to go for a beer..this is the place. Based off of the stock market, beer prices change frequently....and prepare for a "market crash" for great deals. They have a huge variety of micro's from Michigan and they also have a unique dinner menu selection. Worth a visit!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCS375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Concept!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good beer selection. Fun to watch the "market" after 6pm. The prices change every 9 minutes. Very exciting when it "crashes". We also enjoyed the hummus as an appetizer. Knowledgeable bartenders answered any questions. You want to experience this place for sure if you visit Kalamazoo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GorillaPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Love the Concept!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The stock market concept for beer prices is pretty cool. I just recently moved to Kalamazoo and this place was the first restaurant/bar that my friends suggested we visit. I will probably go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loreli_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I are local to Kalamazoo, and this is probably our favorite place to eat on a night out. The beer selection is top-notch, and the market concept is fun. However, for me, the food is the real star of the show. From the burgers (they have 2 varieties of beef, and both are very good), to the dinner entrees (recently, we had lemon pepper salmon and fish and chips, which were great), to the snacks (the homemade bar chips are superb), there's not a bad menu item I've had. It's one of the few places where I thought the prices were too low for the quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goalie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalamazoo Beer Exchange also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Kalamazoo Beer Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing