We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest beds I've seen at a HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I decided to book their jacuzzi suite as it was only $20 more for a night and those tubs are always nice after a day of driving. I was in room 329, which was a corner room with lots of extra space. There was the tub near to the king size bed, a tv with a dvd/vcr, two windows, a little kitchenette and a nice size bathroom. Oh there was also a small table with two chairs. The tub was situated in a corner with mirrors on both walls, but not exactly at the tub level but higher than that. So if you were standing up you would see your face and torso. I don't get the point and then at night the light coming in through the windows was reflected back by those mirrors. The curtains were the general curtains almost every hotel room has that never quite seem to close. I ended up using a hair clip on each to block as much light as I could. The hotel is next to the freeway so the light coming in the room wasn't parking lights but from billboards!. Once I got that taken care of I still had to deal with the light from the door. Instead of coming in through just the bottom of the door, it was coming in from the side! In fact the door didn't completely shut on it's own most of the time. It's almost like it was a bit too small for the frame.

Once I got used to the light in the room the bed did prove to be very good for a HI Express and many other hotels. The pillows were average sadly. I did not even look at the pool so I can't comment on that. The lobby was nice and the breakfast area was nicely decorated and fairly large. Even on the weekends breakfast is from 6am-9:30am but I got there at 9:28 and there was still food out and it didn't appear anyone was rushing people to finish. Though when I checked out around 10, it was all cleaned up.

The elevator is rather small, which isn't a huge deal except they are renovating the stairs and hallways this week. One other small complaint was the air hadn't been turned on in my room before I checked in and as we've had a warm summer, it was quite warm in the room. Warmer than the 75-80 degrees it was outside. It took approx. 3 hours before I would have considered it cold, though with half an hour it had gotten better.

Even with the small issues I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had the best night's sleep at this hotel. They had pocket doors between the sitting area and bedroom. So, all of those annoying lights from the microwave, hair dryer, crack underneath the door to the hallway, plus from all of our own electronics were shut out. It was so nice to have a dark room in which to sleep without having to go through a lot of trouble to cover up all of the offending lights. I'd love to see pocket doors in all hotel suites!

As for the other stuff. The young man we met upon checking in was a bit cool to us, but everyone else was very friendly. They are in the process of updating the hotel, and the rooms are very nice, so don't be too worried if the hall carpet looks like it needs to be replaced. I imagine that by the time some of you read this, it will have been. It was a non-smoking hotel, which is always a plus for me.

Room Tip: Request pocket doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstvacation09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The people of this hotel are GREAT!!!!!

This was a very nice hotel and your employees made it even better.

Will stay again when traveling

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bustergtcappetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Made a reservation weeks in advance of a stay for a business trip. They couldn't find my last name in the computer. When I found my confirmation number, they admitted they gave my room away to someone else. I had to stay at a different hotel that night as they were at that point full.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank DianaSugarGrove_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I was there for a company meeting and I used there meeting room. The staff was warm, friendly and helped me with all my needs. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone on a business trip or who needs a meeting space for a small group.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcadvertising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express, but for whatever reason, the rate was over $100. The TV was subpar, and the channel selection was only OK.

No complaitns about how I was treated, and the rooms were big and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Very nice staff, very clean room with good internet connection and no hassles. Great parking and a good breakfast. I would recommend this place any time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastornpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#14 of 31 in Kalamazoo
299 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing