We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Internet!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The internet at this place rocks! I was able to get download speeds of up to 1MB/s, just like I get at home! Truly outstanding. Anywho, the rest of the place was great, room was clean and comfortable. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the bed was lumpy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNC_SoftwareGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for contributing your opinion about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Kalamazoo on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our internet connection. In order to provide the best connection for every guest, we have 6 different access points through out our building. One access point on each end of the hall on each floor. You dont find that in a lot of hotels! This is definitely a plus for business travelers needing to do work or leisure travelers looking to download games/videos.

Come back and use our complimentary blazing fast wireless internet anytime!

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I live in Chicago and travel to Michigan to see my dad who has cancer. It is imperative to have a comfortable place to stay, especially since I hate not being in my own bed probably more than the average person. Let me name the perfect things at this hotel: the staff, the room, the cleanliness, the smoke-free status, the mattress, the pillows, the coffee, the internet connection, the flat screen t.v., the ironing board and iron, the swimming pool, the fitness room, and even the breakfast! All for 99.99 on a last minute check-in, can't beat that. Small things that were also good: the smell of the soap and the way the room was very darkened by the curtains at night for good sleeping. The only bad thing was my own lack of forethought: the sun shining directly into my room early in the morning when I didn't go to sleep until 2 a.m. Note to self: room on the other side of the hotel next time. There is a little sound from the expressway if you are sensitive to that but it didn't bother me at all. Let me say again that the staff were super friendly and attentive. Thanks for a great stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to boast about us on TripAdvisor! I sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing the hotel and all the kind comments you shared. The outlook you had on your stay is exactly what we pride ourselves in.

I understand there are a lot of other choices for accommodation in Kalamazoo and especially appreciate that you chose us. I am forwarding on this wonderful review to the staff. This way they know how great of a job they are doing and to keep up the heartwarming hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

As with other hotels in the HI Express chain, this hotel is not fancy but was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly. There was plenty of the breakfast foods and it was very good. The internet worked well and the location is perfect for those passing through - right off of the highway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for the kind review. We pride ourselves in treating every guest like family by greeting them with a warm smile as soon as they arrive to making sure everything is perfect during their stay and wishing them a fond fairwell upon their departure.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay at HIE's because we have come to enjoy their consistent commitment to quality. Every hotel seems nearly identical in a comforting way. My children thought we were on the way to florida. They look that alike. The HIE in K-zoo was no surprise. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Checking in was painless. When asked for a room preference, experience has taught me to ask for a room away from the parking lot. In this case puts you at highway side of things. It could be a distraction if the windows were open for fresh air. Not a problem for us.

The room was clean and well made. There was a strong air freshener odor that quickly cleared after the windows were opened. My blanket had a couple of grease like marks on it ,but was not a problem. I strip those off as a rule since they are the least cleaned item on the bed. The shower had good pressure and instantly hot water. The water was softened which I really enjoy. The bathroom was clean which is very important to me.

Breakfast was really good and worth the visit. Good quality and well stocked well after the end of breakfast hours. It one of those things that keeps me coming back since the rest of my family are not early risers. This hotel looked adequately staffed.

This hotel is easy to find right off of the highway, but is adjacent to an industrial area that is not too picturesque. It is a better choice than a couple of the brand new hotels dropped into what I would consider less than desirable neighborhoods that I recall from working in the area. The only bad marks I could give are on the cleanliness of the common areas around the elevators.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo! We greatly appreciate your feedback and have noted the areas where we can improve. As part of the Holiday Inn Brand we strive to create a consistent and memorable experience for every guest.

I am very happy to read that you always stay at Holiday Inn Express. Your loyalty means the world to us!

We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is probably the nicest hotel I have been to in a long time. I was in town for work and will be staying here again if I come to town. The cleaning staff was tremendous and the desk lady Angel is the nicest person you will ever meet. She was busy every time I seen her which would make some people in annoyed but not her. She was very nice to me and I would stay here again just because of her. Plus she's gorgeous, if I didn't live 80 miles away I would definitely be asking her on a date. :-)

Room Tip: Room 303 is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddw0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on how wonderful the staff is. We take pride in going above and beyond to create a legendary experience for all of our guest. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was in Kalamazoo on business. I was in this hotel from Monday thru Friday. I had a lovely stay in a very clean room. The staff was really great also. Excellent bargain. And I have hotel phobia so if I say I enjoyed it....then I enjoyed it. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpack42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for not only taking the time to think of us in your spare moments, but to share your experience on TripAdvisor as well. This small act of kindness is worth more than you know and is truly appreciated. At the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo we strive to create a stay filled with fond memories for every guest. Once again, thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have stayed at this hotel often in the last 15yrs on trips back and forth across Michigan. I chose the hotel because I knew it well. We arrived to an 'empty' reception desk. I had to ring a bell, although the amount of noise we were making coming in should have been enough. The girl who came out, acted like I'd interrupted her. I am a gold PC member, so asked for an upgrade. She gave me a flat..nope...nothing available. It was after 10pm, and the parkinglot was empty. I also found out that the pool was being renovated, although the sign in the lobby said 'pool hours 7-11. She tossed me my key, and disappeared.
The room was 'fine', but the tub had hair in it and the last resident's shampoo was still in there. The sheets did not fit the bed, but the bedding was clean.
Breakfast was only until 9:30am on the weekend. Another detail the 'friendly' night staff forgot to mention in her hurry to get away from the desk. I ran down at 9:20 to find the usual HIEx fare. There was no fruit except for BLACK bananas. We went in and out to the car in the morning, and saw no one at the front desk.
At checkout, I had to AGAIN ring for service and wait. This time I was at least greeted with a smile, but this young lady looked like she'd just gotten home from a very rough night, messy hair, dirty T-shirt. She never asked if I'd enjoyed my stay or had any issues. I'm wondering if they'd stopped asking. It was Christmas Eve morning, and would have at leased liked to hear a 'happy holidays' from someone.
Although this hotel had the new HIEx sign, it appeared they'd done nothing to earn it. If they are in the process of remodelling, I hope they work on cleaning the place up a little. We won't bother to stay here again. There are many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IA_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

On behalf of Holiday Inn Express, kindly acknowledge our sincere apologies for not giving the high standard of warmth hospitality that is the usual norm in the hotel. We regret the discomfort and the inconvenience that it caused you. I am new to the General Manager position here and have been diligently working on improving every aspect of the hotel, department by department. Your feedback is a great learning tool for me and has been taken to heart.

Please accept my apology for the difficulties and inconvenience you experienced. I am deeply troubled that your recent stay with us has caused you, our valued guest, to not want to stay again. I have looked into your feedback and after much review, I have narrowed down the cause of each issue and have taken appropriate action.

At Holiday Inn Express, we are in constant pursuit of perfection and are already working on solutions that will prevent similar problems from occurring in the future. I truly hope that you will give us another chance as this is not the routine service we strive to provide. I assure you that your future visit will be nothing like this one. If there are any further concerns or complaints please feel free to contact me.

Karissa Baker
Interim GM
kbaker@alliancehospitality.com
269-373-0770

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
231 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#16 of 31 in Kalamazoo
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing