We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Newer hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Newer looking place. Quite large for a Holiday Inn Express. The location is excellent for Kalamazoo activities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good and staff very diligent. The entrance driveway is a bit tricky.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you Velohog for the positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Kalamazoo and will share this wonderful review with the staff. We will continue to surpass our guest expectations and maintain a Great Hotel that Guest Love. When you are back in Kalamazoo for any future travels, we look forward to being able to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    59
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
60
31
8
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were here two nights. The staff was very courteous. Place looks new on the outside but when we entered the room it felt "old" somehow. However, it was very spacious and clean and that feeling left us the longer we were there. The bed and bedding were comfortable. We were able to keep the room as cold as we liked. We ended up being quite happy with our two-night stay and would happily stay here again. If you have short legs, be sure to use the hold bar provided by the bathtub as you step out, as the tub is higher than you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your review and for your most recent two night stay with us here in Kalamazoo, Mi. We appreciate the feedback as we have been under new management here at the Holiday Inn Express and have been doing renovations to the property to update it more. We will look forward to having you back the next time you are in Kalamazoo Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I was booked here for business meeting next day, got in late. The front desk/night manager had a van from the hotel next door pick me up at the airport (no cabs at 10pm in Kalamazoo airport). The room was large and clean and the breakfast area was upscale and clean. Everything seemed new. The bes was comfortable with various types of pillows, nice quality sheets. Breakfast was self serve with biscuits and gravy, pancakes, sausage, pastries, boiled eggs, cereal, juices, coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ct0r_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express. We are always pleased to know we have met the guests expectations and look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed on second floor.When leaving the next morning I walked down the stairs and went to leave out side door of hotel only to find out it was bolted shut.If there would have been a fire I am not sure how we would have gotten out of hotel.Front desk didn't seem like this was a big deal.We called headquarters again seemed to be no big deal.Well guess what we are coming back to move our son into western mich.I will be checking this door before I check-in,if it is bolted shut I WILL CALL THE FIRE MARSHALL!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BRONCO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you Bronco2013 for your feedback. However, the door is not bolted shut, it is the style of our security locks. I do apologize about any inconvenience this may have caused and we look forward to having you as a returning guest when you come back to Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were here with a large group and all went well. Our room faced the interstate and unlike other reviewers, we heard no road noise at all. Breakfast was the same both Sat. & Sun. mornings--would've liked a variety. No waffle maker and the pancake maker wasn't working properly. Everything was clean, though, with plenty of clean towels. Missed the afternoon warm chocolate cookies. Appreciated that we were asked to sign an agreement to adhere to the hotel's "quiet hours." This should be implemented at ALL hotels. Also appreciated the note at the breakfast area stating shoes & proper clothes are required by law. It's not very appetizing to see people come down to breakfast in their pj's and barefoot. We'd stay here again. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for the time you have taken to write your views on our property and your experience with us. We love when everything goes well with big groups. We know things can get rowdy and that is why we implement our "peaceful stay contract", we are pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations on our property and look forward to having you back next time you are in Kalamazoo, Mi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The staff at this hotel were friendly. My complaints are based on the poor construction of the building. My room faced the interstate and I could hear trucks all night. I'm assuming that since I've stayed in similar hotels close to the freeway without this much noise that the insulation and windows are of inferior quality. The vertical passageways for the plumbing should be insulated, but clearly were not at this property. I could hear it loud and clear every time someone above flushed or took a shower. The walls between the rooms must not be insulated either, because you could hear everything going on on either side. I also found the decor to be at the lower end of what I expect at an HIE property. Also, I'm surprised by the positive bed comments. The mattress was lumpy and definitely not up to normal HIE standards.

I would not consider this a business traveler hotel. The desk did not have a lamp and the one outlet was underneath the desk. In hotels that don't have outlets at desk height, I expect a desk lamp with outlets.

There were several other nice hotels close by including a 4 Points by Sheraton that we the same price. I would choose them over this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bixatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We have had new ownership and management company take over and have been in the process of renovation. We are also in the process of placing the new bedside lamps in the rooms within the next week and will pass along the information to ownership as well. We apologize we did not meet your standards and given we are in the process of updating those items we hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANVILLE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here one night for a visit to Kalamazoo College the next day. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient both at check-in and check-out. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice long counter. The breakfast was fine, but I really dislike having to use plastic utensils and plates. I am a very light sleeper, but I had no problem with the road noise. It's not a particularly convenient hotel to the college, but I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Granville25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
We are pleased to know that we could accommodate you, even though we were out of the way. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We look forward to having you back on your future visits to Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing