We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude desk clerk!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When I arrived the motel was undergoing a paint job and guess what? They put me in a room right where they were painting the smell was bad!! I went back to the office to see about moving to another room, I said the paint fumes were pretty bad do you think you can move me to another room? He jumps back and barks out "we have to paint the building" Good answer! anyway I asked if they were painting all the units and he said yes. I asked one of the painters and was told no only this one, the one they put me in. So I went back he began to argue and told me I should stay somewhere else, and that is what I did. I have been going there for 5 years now but I will never go back again. Buy the way this was on Sept 27 2013 at about 3:00pm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Terry Northam
General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Western Michigan University
I0025@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

A great place to stay while traveling. Inn was recently remodled and looks good. Receptionist Sharon made every effort to make me feel at ease and welcome. She made reccomendations of where to eat close by. The Inn is near Western MI University and a good value. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. .

We are happy that you enjoyed the hospitality that Sharon was able to provide and also our close proximity to Western Michigan University.

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. We appreciate your feedback.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Terry Northam
General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Western Michigan University
I0025@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

My first impression was great! Sharon greeted my husband and I so kindly. The lobby was clean, coffee was hot and fresh, and our room was so clean it really made our stay wonderful! When we couldn't figure out where to go for dinner later I called the front desk. Sharon gave us great recommendations and we were very pleased with the place she recommended most. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family or friends that were visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lohend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service that Sharon was able to provide for you.

We are happy that you enjoyed our clean rooms and delicious coffee!

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Terry Northam
General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Western Michigan University
I0025@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've stayed at this motel many times and will continue to do so when in the area. The value is a fair deal and the coffee is addictive. Craig at the front desk is very courteous and helpful to make sure that all is well. I stay more nights in a motel than at home, it's very nice to be in a comfortable place which this is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Craig was able to provide for you.

We are happy that you enjoy our coffee and that you feel comfortable when staying with us.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Terry Northam
General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Western Michigan University
I0025@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Upon arrival. Sharon made every effort to see that I was welcome and recieving the best service. Real personable and the best any hotelier could ask for. If you are anywhere near this Red Roof you must not pass the chance to be catered to like they do.....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy that you enjoyed Sharon's hospitality, she truly enjoys her opportunity to work with our guests.

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The first horrible thing was the odor of room, smelled to high hell... then walked over to bathroom... goodness gracious there was PEE in the toilet seat..GROSS.. looked in the sink...razor stubble from the previous guest I imagine..yuck...then I look at pillow cases and sheets...STAINED.. could it get any worse? Yes....I sit on the bed...HARD and uncomfortable.. I arrived super late and was exhausted, so there was no way I was looking at other hotels so I was stuck... Staff should check on rooms when they are vacated and then allegedly cleaned or NOT cleaned as in my case. Rooms are outdated. Clerks were supremely friendly however...that was the only perk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna021771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed several times to visit our daughter at WMU. The room is a great value for the low price. Craig at the front desk went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met and was very helpful. I would highly recommend this Red Roof Inn for the service and value.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time post a wonderful review.

We are pleased that you enjoy the value of our product and also our close proximity to Western Michigan University.

We are happy that you enjoyed Craig and his hospitality.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 31 in Kalamazoo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
4.0 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
6.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £40 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing