We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bold Restaurant & Catering

Bold Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #19 of 336 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have dined at Bold at least six times, including two Thanksgiving days and several birthdays, with my family. This is my "go to" restaurant in Kalamazoo for special occasions. The service is always excellent and the menu and specials are superb. I have never been disappointed. The tastes and presentations of their food are unique and wonderful. Their drinks and wine list are as good as any in Kalamazoo. The atmosphere is upscale. What is there not to like? Reservations are highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expensive, good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We really wanted a good customer service for dinner, so my husband made reservations at Bold and asked for the best service available. We received excellent service and had a wonderful meal. My husband had a wedge salad and a steak which was excellent, I had their seafood chowder and mixed green salad which was also excellent. Bold had a great dessert-basically chocolate covered walnut ice cream smothered in Bananas Foster. Bold has a nice selection of wines and we were able to find pairings that adequately complimented our meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've been here about a half dozen times and it's always been great.

The manager is passionate about his restaurant and the service they provide. He always comes to check on you, and makes sure everything is cooked to how you like it.

The food is always fantastic and the drinks are amazing. Go on Mondays when they have half price small plates, but make sure to make a reservation.

Every server is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the menu. If you want a great experience on a special evening, go here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksims721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
144 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We have given Bold three chances to give us an excellent meal and each time we left feeling like we've paid too much for average food. You can expect to pay around $65 for two people and that is with one glass of wine. You will enjoy good service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoolcraft, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

BOLD is one of my favorite restaurants and probably one of the best in Kalamazoo. Excellent food and drinks. Fine dining quality and ingredients on familiar foods- that is what I love about this place. Favorites include the risotto fritters, bacon flatbread, BOLD shrimp, goat cheese dip, corn chowder, salmon, petite peanut butter cups, all the after dinner drinks and the large list of various specials each time we go. Some of the off menu special items I've loved include the roasted vegetable goat cheese soup, beef tenderloin skewers and crawfish.

Helpful?
Thank mrsgibney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bold Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bold Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing