We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm rating this "average", but”
Review of Motel 6 Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Kalamazoo
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed 21 July 2012

that's "average" for a Motel 6, not for the universe of hotels/motels out there. This M6 is on a small side road just off the freeway. It's one storey but fairly sprawling - there are several buildings. It's the standard motel-ish drive-up-to-your-door-and-park deal.

Checking in was straightforward enough, though the desk clerk took several minutes messing around with the computer system while I stood there waiting. I don't know what that was about. On the positive side, 15 minutes after I got to the room he called to verify that it was satisfactory. Upon reaching the door, I noted a cigarette butt on the ground at the foot of it. Entering the room, the first impression was "clean enough" which it mostly is. The next impression was tripping over a spot where the laminate flooring has been broken and is sticking up. Because of its location, I tripped over this quite a few times through the course of the evening. It really should be fixed before someone hurts themselves. The third impression was that I was sticking to the floor. It's the feeling that you get on a hard floor that's been mopped but not rinsed - that soapy/sticky feel, which is probably exactly what it was.

This is a renovated M6 but is not as renovated as the ones I've seen elsewhere. For example, there's no faux-fancy sink like I saw in other such M6s. The renovation seems to have been limited to putting down the flooring and painting one wall orange. What's been done to the room has since lost its luster, has become somewhat beat-up, though I suppose it's a (small) notch above a non-renovated property.

It was a Friday night and the parking lot noise continued into the morning hours. Cars starting, doors banging, hollering, kids (yes, at those hours) making noise. At one point a dog (at least I hope it was) was scratching at the door wanting to get in. Fortunately I didn't have any noisy neighbors. Again, this was a Friday so for all I know the place could be completely quiet during the week. The next morning after the walk to the office, I discovered that while there were two canisters of hot coffee on tap, they don't have hot water available, so those who like tea or like to make their own instant coffee are out of luck. I didn't use the TV so nothing to report there, but the (free) internet access is adequate, as was the cooling from the under-window unit.

All in all, it's pretty much par-for-the-course for an M6. I had higher hopes for this one because of it's "renovated" status on the M6 website, and because such properties elsewhere were considerably above the M6 average. This one is average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Kalamazoo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

One star. We left upon entry to the room, at least they were nice enough to refund our money. Needless to say, we only needed a few hours of sleep before getting back on the road. Arrived at 1am, and there was quite a bit of activity in the lot. (People drinking, loud noise, strange vehicles driving around the property in the all of FIVE MINUTES we were there. Looked as if someone dumped trash outside the door of our room. NO carpeting in the room, tasteless tile throughout! BADLY stained tub, and my biggest pet peave... Broken inner door slide-lock. (Hardware only showing half of a screw partially installed. Leads me to believe this motel is unsafe. After viewing someone's candid pictures only confirmed this more. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone. Most of the properties on this side of the street along with this seemed to share most of these qualities. This would be one of the few times I would say, stay with the "BIG BOX" hotels in the area. (This hotel is independently owned & operated, and not somewhere I would advise!)

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are uncomfortable with anything other than cheap.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Frugal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

You can't beat the price for a quick sleep. The linens were clean, but the walls are VERY thin. Pray that you don't get energetic neighbors like we did.
The rooms need definite work. Orange walls, rusting and peeling fixtures.
Pros: cheap, free wifi, coupons for meals at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so great! Everyone made our kids feel great! It's the little things that make the difference, everyone made ours kids feel special. Thank you!! We would stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kstate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Rundown and cheap hotel, hygiëne is not their strong point...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patjanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Poorly updated rooms, light fixture non-functional, light fixture falling off wall, property looks derelict. It was July and the pool was closed - actually the pool complex looked like it had been closed for years! For the first time ever my bed was short-sheeted! Pictures of the room on websites have to be staged or are the few rooms that seem to be occupied by family. TV was semi-broken: the tint of the picture was green and there were no controls to adjust.

Room Tip: Skip this Motel 6
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sennamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

When staying here this spring , found the room was not clean ......called the office and they sent someone to clean countertop and wash window. After I returned home, I called and talked with manager. His attitude, and the condition of the room, convinced me that I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfeet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 31 in Kalamazoo
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#24 of 31 in Kalamazoo
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Kalamazoo
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kalamazoo

Address: 3704 Vanrick Dr, I-94 at Exit 80/Sprinkle Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-0807
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: £42 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Kalamazoo features 104 spacious guestrooms each with private bathroom and the guests choice of bed type and smoking preference. Kids 17 and under and pets stay for free. Included in the rate is free wireless internet, free morning coffee served in the lobby, free HBO, ESPN, plus 70 more cable channels, and unlimited free local calls. A guest coin laundry and vending machines are available. Also available at a nominal fee are microwaves, fridges, and copy/fax service. Motel 6 Kalamazoo is the best value and has the lowest price of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Motel Six
Kalamazoo Motel 6
Motel Six Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing