We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Room - Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room - Friendly and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My Mother and I stayed at the Country Inn for two nights while attending a funneral. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff, more than once sought us out to make sure everything was okay and to ask if there was anything else they could do for us. The deluxe breakfast was amazing, well stocked, Only disappointing features were the pool (which was COLD!) and the jacuzzi (which was out of order the entire time we were there).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InTheHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    66
    45
    35
    38
See reviews for
117
21
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is currently being remodeled. I have stayed at other hotels during remodeling but never noticed the contractors. The carpenters were cutting lumber just outside of my window. I heard the circular saws until 10:30 at night. Obviously the owners had no regard for their guests to schedule this kind of work. The hotel was only 20-30 percent full, there had to be a room further away from the construction area than where they put me.
Also, over a three day period, we ran out of hot water every time we truied to shower. I used my Club Carlson points to stay here and usually don't have issues like this at a Country Inn and Suites, but I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We hid our children's electronics UNDER CLOTHING IN A DRAWER and returned to find them stolen. The manager promised replacement and the owner said too bad. Not to mention the bathrooms were disgusting and never cleaned. Do not stay here unless you enjoy being robbed.

Room Tip: Noisy room, filthy bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here for one night in January 2012. It was a bit difficult to find (it was dark and very foggy), but once I figured out where it was, it wasn't a problem. I had wonderful service (both check in by friendly staff and check out by the manager).

Room was spacious (one king bed). Toilet and tub were separate from sink area. They have the usual toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soap and moisturizer). Everything was clean and in good condition. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I didn't notice any noise from other rooms or from the interstate (very close by). Had a great night sleep here.

Breakfast had the usual cold items (donuts, bagels, muffins and cereal) and some hot items.

I would stay here again. It's a good clean hotel, right off the interstate with a decent breakfast for a fairly good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckgal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Booked this reservation through priceline. Thought I was bidding on a 3-star but instead I had hit 2 1/2-star. Paid $60/night which isn't bad but I think I could have gotten this for $45. I would have felt better about that price. The best thing about this hotel was the service and staff. The owner/manager was working at the front desk and was very friendly. The other staff I talked with was also friendly. They did every thing they could to make our stay a good one. Their buisness center was down so they let me use a computer behind the front desk to print some things.
They are in the process of remodling some rooms here. We were in a newly remodled room but there were still some spots on the wall that needed sanding and painting. Our room was clean but my wife said it just sort of "felt" dirty.
The breakfast was good not great. In addition to the waffle maker they had some type of hot eggs, sausage, buiscuits, and gravy. Didn't use the pool. This hotel is on the northwest corner of the battlecreek airport but surprisingly the airplane noise was not very noticable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clint b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I just got back from a two night stay at this hotel. I stayed here as I got a good deal through the name your own price option on Priceline but will gladly return and pay the usual rate. As others have commented it is ridiculous to find. I had to get off the freeway, make a u-turn and then swerve to make the turn onto the service drive. In actuality you can access the hotel's road from Portage Rd., it's probably not any much further but the GPS does not tell you this.

Once I got there both the manager and desk clerk were very polite and helpful with any questions I had on the area. I had a room with two beds that was roomy and the fridge and microwave were very great! The bathroom appeared small but there was enough counter space for all my makeup and other girly face/hair things. The bathroom fixture are a bit dated but that doesn't bother me at all. They worked and I had enough hot water for a bath at night and a shower in the morning, which is all that's important. Of course everything was very clean.

I got up too late for breakfast both mornings but a staff member was still cleaning up when I wandered in for some juice and they allowed me to grab a glass of juice, which is more than others would do, especially since she had to turn the machine back on for me the first morning.

The bed and pillows were some of the best I've seen in a hotel in this price/star range. I love that this hotel still has the older heating/air unit under the window because I was able to run the fan option to help block out some noise. The curtains blocked most light and I never noticed any light coming from around the door either. For any people concerned about the airport being so close, don't be. I never heard a plane after 10pm.

My only complaints is the fact I was on the first floor and had some noise issues I generally avoid by staying on upper floors. I travel with a service dog and being helpful put me right next to a side entrance. While this was appreciated and so nice of them to think of it, the double doors were kind of loud and woke me up in the morning a few times. When other guests were outside my window it was like they were in my room! Thankfully no one really stood there for any length of time. Again this is not a deal breaker and it was not enough to turn me off from returning and I was still able to get decent sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabinebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We hosted a dinner reception for 40 guests at the Country Inn & Suites' banquet room and reserved 10 rooms for the convenience of our out-of-town guests. The newly remodeled lobby and rooms are lovely.

The desk staff was very kind and worked hard to make our guests' stay confortable. Any problem I was aware of (such as rooms situated rather distant from each other to placement of tables in the banquet room) was quickly handled to our satisfaction. No guests reported any unresolved problems to me ... and my mother would've told me about any problems, believe me!

Oh, one thing: getting there is a problem. The motel's address is on Kilgore Road, but you actually have to be on on Kilgore Service Road to get to the motel. GPS units seem to leave our guests on the north side of I-94 and unable to see the sign for the motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
6.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Address: 1912 E Kilgore Service Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49002-1732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Kalamazoo we try to provide all the comforts and conveniences of home. In-room coffee brewers, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, free wireless Internet, and a newspaper to start your day, we have all the little things you need, just right for you. All of our guests receive a Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Our breakfast offers an array of items including but not limited to hot items such as; Belgium waffles, breakfast meats, eggs, french toast, biscuits and gravy and oatmeal. We also provide a spread of served cold items that are enjoyable even while on the go. This includes; fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, muffins, doughnuts, bagels and cream cheese. Cold beverages such as juice and milk are available during breakfast hours only while hot items such as coffee and assorted teas are available to guests around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing