We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Middle Eastern Restaurant in Town!”
Review of Shawarma King

Shawarma King
Ranked #21 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Middle Eastern Restaurant in Town!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Their flavor is the best in town of ALL of the middle eastern / Lebanese restaurants, regardless of price.

Their service is prompt friendly and helpful. They have a good variety of choices on the menu and are willing to assist newcomers with their selections.

They can be busy at peak lunch and dinner times, but I've never had to wait for a table (altho sometimes it was the last table). They also offer takeout, and have meals that you can eat on the run if you want. It's NOT a pretentious overpriced place, you won't have to break into your piggy bank to pay for a wonderful meal.

This review is for the restaurant on Drake Road which is under different ownership than the one on campus.

Helpful?
Thank PCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authenitic Food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fresh, flavorful and authentic Middle Eastern food. This isn't a formal sit-down restaurant, but there is a seating area with wait staff, but it's not a dinner-out sort of place. No alcohol, nothing fancy, but the staff is right there with help and recommendations. We had the Shish Tawook, which was wonderful with a nice sauce and the beef gallaya, which grew in our appreciation with each bite. The counter was lively with to-go orders and our experience with Shawarma King showed us this was good food made by people who seemed to understand what they're making and serving.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value and quality”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

There are 2 Shawarma King's in K'zoo and some of these reviews are confusing this excellent restaurant with the one one Westnedge Ave. This restaurant has very consistent, high quality food that is both healthy and a great value. Great salads too, and the french fries are the best in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctopherfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic food means great meal at great value.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I really, REALLY enjoy the authenticity of this place. Being a college student, I look for food that's not processed. I can literally see the fresh meats hanging through the kitchen window. I absolutely love the work that they do here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainmanjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A family Favorite!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Whevener we visit my sister in Kalamazoo, we always have Shawarma King catered. The portions are HUGE and food is delish! Occasionally you will get meat a little overcooked, but better than the alternative. We order for 10 people and we have enough food for an army. We can seriously eat leftovers for a week. Of course Shawarma and steak kabobs are yummy but try the fried chicken...out of this world!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazykfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shawarma King also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Shawarma King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing