We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shawarma King

Shawarma King
Ranked #18 of 336 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Every time we come to Kalamazoo we have must stop at Shawarma King
The food is the best around, the staff friendly and you never go away hungry.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“269 Cool Things To Do In Area Code 269”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

"People come from all over the state to eat here. We had family Christmas here!"-Lynne V. Located on Howard St.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Shawarma and Falafel in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Simple restaurant with really good Lebanese food. Our favorites are the chicken shawarma, falafel, lamb biryani and the spiced hot tea. Large portions and good prices make this a popular place for students as well as any of the locals that like Middle Eastern food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traderguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tasty Lebanese entrees. Meals seem to be fresh and consistent. Nice flavor. Salads are good. Some of the sides ie french fries don't seem to stay with restaurant theme. However the menu is quite large, so they try to accommodate many. Ice tea is weak. Staff is friendly. Will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shawarma King is King!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had the King Platter that included beef shawarma, chicken, falafel, stuffed grape leaves, kibbee, etc. So delicious & came out piping hot! Special garlic sauce is wonderful. Baklava is great, too, and you can buy it in larger, ready-to-go packages for a bit cheaper. Service is good, although a bit confusing b/c of the shared responsibilities -- maybe because they were breaking in a new guy.... The regular servers seemed highly competent, ready to help & offer advice, etc. It was my second time here in two days. I had lunch (chicken shawarma sandwich) the day before -- it was good, but the King Platter was way better! I saw some regulars eating two platters of fried chicken, so that might be worth trying. Come a bit early (whether lunch or dinner) if you don't want to fight for a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bnedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shawarma King also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Shawarma King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing