We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henderson Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Croswell, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If not for a few mishaps the rating would be excellent.
The Food: Dinner; we had the 11 course; beef tenderloin for both of us, escargot and crayfish appetizers, lobster bisque soup. Most of the food was simply amazing, a few small complaints; the amuse bouche was a tomato and pepper quiche: this didn't say artistry of the evening as an amuse should. The desert: pumpkin pie with whipped creme and cinnamon covered almonds, this was pretty good but was cold and had obviously been frozen and left to thaw to room temp. Finally the petit four; again a pre-made freeze and thaw approach was taken with mini lemon pies. At the price of Dinner (over $250 for the two of us after drinks), I felt like there should not have been any frozen food in the mix. However...the beef tenderloin, vegetables, potatoes, crayfish, salad, bisque, trou normand and desert coffee were all spectacular and made the experience a great one despite the small mistakes.
Breakfast: the wife had an omelet made with fresh veggies and I had scrambled eggs and house traditional french toast. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had.
The Room: this room was amazing!!!! huge with massive bed and many beautiful pieces of furniture, the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it. There was one huge problem...the room had an antique 13 head shower, the shower had an out of order sign posted on it and seemed as if it had for some time. they had even put a tub into the room to sideways remedy the situation. I was not happy at the fact that my only bathing option was in a strange bath tub nor was I happy about the 13 head shower(major selling point of that room) not working. other small problems included the fact that there are almost no electrical outlets in the room, the temp was quite high and no A/C in the room.
The property: this place is beautiful at every turn. wherever you look or go the place screams old world beauty and true architecture. On the roof is a sitting area and a rooftop hot tub, having drinks on the roof in chilly air and hot water with an amazing view of the city at night was probably my favorite part of the stay.
The Staff: The staff here was extremely friendly, the hosts were hospitable in every way, the waitstaff were as perfect as I could expect from anywhere and the owner Francois was wonderful and friendly, a real honor to meet him, many chefs at his level wouldn't mingle with regular patrons but he actually speaks with many of his customers and at night he can usually be found working the front desk as he does his books and surfs the internet.
Additional: The Henderson Castle is considered one of the most haunted properties in Michigan, while we didn't see any ghosts, staying there on all hallows eve made for great conversation and entertainment, there also were a couple of strange occurrences but no definite proof of the supernatural. There was also an issue with an overcharge, it seemed that there was a mistake on the restaurant bill and I was originally charged about $40 too much, turned out that gratuity had been added to the bill by the waitress and then again by the hotel but when I noticed I brought the matter to the attention of the hostess and the matter was taken care of right away.

All and All even despite the mistakes I wanted to give this rating 5 stars because in my opinion it was a 5 star stay, but I know that it wouldn't be accurate so I did lower it to 4 but to call it anything less than a 4 star experience would be under-rating at it's worst. I loved it, my wife loved it, WE TRULY HAD AN AMAZING STAY.

Room Tip: If you want ghosts, pick the Italian, Dutch or donjon room, If you want an awesome decor choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest,

It was nice to meet you as well. Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Merci,
Francois Moyet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    36
    37
    23
    43
See reviews for
33
129
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

No heat. The continental breakfast consisted of lukewarm Lipton tea, a stale croissant and a small plate of barely edible fruit. It is definitely not worth the $100 per room that we paid. It seems like the owner is just charging what he get away with to pay the mortgage and is cutting corners on everything else to maximize his profit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kalequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you so much for your review. I will address your comments with my staff. We are always want to know when there are areas where we can improve.
Please call me next time you visit us again so I can insure you a great experience. Our goal is to make every experience amazing .

Best regards,

Francois Moyet .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalamazoo hotels

Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was by far the worst Bed & Breakfast I have ever stayed at. The bed in our room had the most uncomfortable old lumpy mattress I have ever seen. We arrived for breakfast the first morning and was offered 1/2 of a banana, a few slices of orange and 2 croissants and then offered cold cereal or oatmeal. If we wanted anything else it was an upcharge. We were served by one of the house keepers. During our first day there the entire dining room was taken up by a blood drive. We took the tour of the castle given by someone who had never given a tour before and knew very little about the history of the place. There were 2 glasses in our bathroom, both were dirty. They looked like there was dried jelly on them.

I could go on and on. Needless to say we will never go back.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you so much for your review. I will address your comments with my staff. We are a growing business and many of our employees have multiple roles.
Please call me next time you visit us again so I can insure you a great experience. Our goal is to make every experience be a great one .

Best regards,

Francois Moyet .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, MI
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our stay at Henderson Castle was fantastic! It is absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The staff is wonderful and the view from the rooftop hot tub is fantastic! I highly recommend staying here. It is a very easy walk to downtown from here and is adjacent to K Colleges campus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.

Your host,
Francois Moyet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcpherson, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Henderson Castle. We had perfect fall weather for the hot tub up on the roof, along with a great view of the city. The steam room was marvelous. Great room--we chose the Indian themed room. Wonderful breakfast. Gracious hosts. We would recommend this to anyone who wants a special weekend get-away.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are themed, so choose one that fits you. We toured the rooms that were vacant on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. May you have great weather next time, too.

Cheers,
Francois Moyet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had my wedding here & it was the perfect venue for the occasion! The staff was very attentive to my needs as well as my wedding parties needs! The food was excellent. And our rooms were neat & tidy.
I look foreward to celebrating future anniversaries here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJZandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for kind words. You had a wonderful wedding. We look forward to celebrating your anniversaries with you.


Love,
Francois Moyet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and was excited to return with husband and mother-in-law. Highly disappointed with the staff who were less than interested in helping us. They were more interested in talking among themselves than getting us situated. The bed creaked and groaned so much that neither I nor my husband dared move which meant for a sleepless night. That in addition to the staff talking, someone tripping down the stairs outside our room in the early morning made for cranky guests. The breakfast which I remember being so good was basic continental and service adequate. Won't stay here again. I'd rather go to a more modern hotel where at least I can get a decent night's sleep.

Oh, did I mention that the toilet didn't flush? Yes, that only took two turns to get someone to come and deal with it.

Room Tip: my mother-in-law slept in the first floor room and heard noise all night long into the morning. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank panamaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you so much for your review. I will address your comment with my staff and look at your bed.
Please call me next time you visit us again so I can insure you a great experience. Our goal is to make every experience amazing .

Best regards,

Francois Moyet .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Castle Inn

Property: Henderson Castle Inn
Address: 100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular bed and breakfast in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding, graduation or romantic getaway. Situated in the historic West Main Hill neighborhood, you're minutes away from the theatres, shopping and vibrant night life of downtown Kalamazoo, but secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night free from the noise of the city. When you're with us, you'll have a royal experience. Wake up to an incredible breakfast prepared by our French chef Francois Moyet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henderson Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Castle Hotel Kalamazoo
Henderson Castle Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing