We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Kalamazoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This hotel is up Hampton's level of good consistency. Clean, quiet, and friendly staff. Close to the freeway, and the various sites in Kalamazoo. Hot breakfast in the morning, and snacks in the evening.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ARP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    97
    45
    16
    7
See reviews for
135
59
18
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed the weekend of Oct. 11-13, 2013. Check-in was efficient & the gal was helpful in leaving a key for my husband who would be coming in late at night when my kids & I were sleeping. The hotel was full since it was Homecoming weekend for WMU but we had no problems. We had a 2 queen bed suite & it was very roomy. I could watch tv from the couch while my kids slept & since I could turn the tv toward the couch they could sleep. I liked that the toilet & shower/tub were together & the sink was outside so I could get ready while my husband showered. There was a small fridge & a microwave, both worked well. I also liked that the thermostat had a setting for a Constant Fan, so we could have "white noise" while we slept.
The breakfast was good, they had a nice selection: 3 cereals, yogurt, breads, pastry/muffins, oatmeal, waffles & 2 warm items (Sat. was mini omelet & potatoes, Sun. was eggs & biscuits/gravy).
My only dislike was the eating area & the seating. They had a long table that was up higher & had bar stool chairs. Also many tables had couches & more living room style chairs to sit at. For us w/small kids we didn't prefer the modern style, it's easier for them to eat at a regular table & even I would have preferred a regular table to eat at. Just my personal preference, it won't stop us from not using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broncoalum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On our recent vacation we stayed at the Hampton Inn twice. On arrival I requested a room with a frig and micro/ the front desk staff went out of their way to get me into a room with both. We were welcomes every morning with a smile. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Will do it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjan0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshtemo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel, just off I94 in Oshtemo, Michigan. The people were very kind, always positive, always up-beat, and always hospitable. It was a clean facility with a very welcoming spirit to it. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a king room with a whirlpool. When we checked in and went to our room, it didn't have a whirlpool. We went to the front desk and the manager said a staff member made a mistake and that room we requested was not available. This was a special weekend for my husband and I and this Hampton Inn ruined it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I mean, really... don't you want a hotel that is exactly what you're expecting? I mean, sure, once in a hundred hotel stays you'll have your expectations exceeded, but generally, you want to walk into one of the Hilton Hotels and have it be exactly what it's supposed to be. You'll have a nice person greet you, have coffee available all day long, have a big room with a huge TV, fast Wi-Fi, and thick walls (and don't forget good water pressure). And this Hampton Inn knocks it out of the park -- comfortable, quiet, all business people and even a not totally disappointing breakfast. See? Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erowe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As the title suggests, the Hampton Inn in Kalamazoo is a pretty avergae Hampton Inn. It appears to have undergone a renovation a few years ago and you'll find it up to par for cleanliness, comfort and utility. It's close to the highway, making it an ideal stopover for business travel and has a few places to eat nearby.

The only rooms with microwaves and refridgerators are the suites, but that's not uncommon in this tier of Hilton properties.

My only serious complaint is that the workout facility absolutely sucks. Two treadmills, an eliptical and medicine balls. The worst part, though, is that some genious decided to put the electrical/phone/internet closet in the room inside the workout area. Anyone in IT knows that the IT closet gets very hot, so their solution was to leave the combined door open and set a fan blowing hot air directly into the workout room. Seriously guys? There's a nearby Swat Fitness that will sell you a day pass for $9 and their facilities are great. Don't expect to get a decent workout in the sweltering 80 degree workout facility at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.8 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Address: 5059 S 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-9503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo Hotel Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing