We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Love Fricano's”
Review of Fricano's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fricano's
Ranked #81 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
309 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“We Love Fricano's”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We calculated we've been going to Fricano's for almost 50 years! First in Grand Haven and then Kalamazoo. We love Fricano's, Kalamazoo! Great food! Great atmosphere! Great service! Great menu, although we almost always get the pizza! Come as you are for a great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the Pizza”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Finally took a drive (short) to try the pizza, and were pleasantly surprised. I prefer thin crust pizza and there's has just the right amount of sauce, and good ratio of sauce to crust to toppings (pepperoni). Wine was fine, calamari was tender but too much breading and surprisingly without flavor. We chose the outside deck and enjoyed being outside. Our waitress was knowledgeable, helpful, and prompt in attending to us. Will be back for the pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“I wish this was good but it is not.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This might be your only choice in this rural part of Kalamazoo. If so prepare for a low average experience. The wine is not good but I did watch the bartender pour huge amounts of alcohol into mixed drinks so perhaps that is a better choice. The zucchini appetizer was heavily breaded, deep fried and tasteless. Our entrees were mixed. My husband liked his peppers, sausage and pasta, our daughter disliked her eggplant parmesan and my broiled walleye was average but the garlic mashed potatoes were cool and lacked flavor. The iceberg lettuce salads and dressings were right out of the past. Our service was poor and inattentive. Overall, avoid if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice surprise! Good Food!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We headed there Saturday for dinner. We were expecting a small pizza place. It is a great place for dinner. They were crowded, but quick in seating. We decided to share a variety, so we had lasagna, pizza (pepporini and onion) and manicotti. Everything was good. The pizza was very thin crust, which I don't usually like, but this was good. It wasn't a dry cracker type crust. The lasagna was good also. We will definitely be back for another sampling dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gizmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Mi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding, unique pizza & Italian specialties”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is great place, but can be difficult to find as it's located outside the city in the middle of corn fields! I like their pizza so much, I rarely order anything else, however the eggplant parmigiana, chicken and ribs are all good as well. Reasonably priced, with full bar service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishAyes8490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fricano's also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Fricano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing