We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot spot for Breakfast in Kalamazoo”

LaRue's Family Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Restaurant details
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot spot for Breakfast in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

they have the best breakfast in town. Reasonable prices and a good quantity of food. Service is always friendly and fast.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnD42354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

LaRue's was a good family restaurant. We had a group of 8 women and most of us split entrees since we were having an early dinner. The food was very good and the portions very appropriate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srrmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalamazoo mi
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cash. Make sure you have cash.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have frequented this place for 20 years. I love the sausage omelette with sausage gravy on top. One of the only restaurants that Does Not use the sausage links in their omlettes! I am picky about this.
Last I knew they took cash/checks, but no debit/cc. Bank is across the street & we just stopped there the last time we went.
LaRue's is quite busy! Weekend mornings have a wait. I went on Wednesday in March 2013 and it had quite a few people still at 1030-11 am, but no wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alohaholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This place is a favorite for Sunday Breakfast.”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

A lot of others think so too because there's usually a decent line to get in. The food is simple, well made, tasty, ample, and nicely priced. Once you go here the first time you'll be back again and again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalamadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Worst Service in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I've been here twice as I rarely make a decision on the place with one visit. Unfortunately, I received the same service the second time. From the time we sat down, me, with two boys, it was 15 mins to get our drink order. Then 30 mins later we placed our breakfast order. 30 mins later we got our food. Surprisingly the food was cold. But after waiting for as long as we did, I wasn't going to send it back.

There won't be a third time. The other breakfast restaurant, a mile away, seems to handle the concept of serving people.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spmy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaRue's Family Restaurant also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to LaRue's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing